Linn County, Oregon Genealogy
Guide to Linn County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Linn County, Oregon|
Location in the state of Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
|Founded||December 28, 1847|
|Address|| Linn County Courthouse|
300 4th Ave SW
PO Box 100
Albany, OR 97321
Linn County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Quick Facts
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Populated Places
- 6 Neighboring Counties
- 7 Resources
- 7.1 Biography
- 7.2 Cemeteries
- 7.3 Census
- 7.4 Church History and Records
- 7.5 Court Records
- 7.6 Gazetteers
- 7.7 History
- 7.8 Land and Deed Records
- 7.9 Maps
- 7.10 Military History and Records
- 7.11 Newspapers
- 7.12 Probate Records
- 7.13 Rivers and Waterways
- 7.14 Taxation
- 7.15 Vital Records
- 8 Societies, Libraries and Museums
- 9 Webites
- 10 Linn County Oregon Genealogy References
The County was named for Lewis F. Linn, a U.S. Senator from Missouri who advocated the American settlement of the Oregon Country. The County is located in the northwest area of the state. 
Linn County, Oregon Record Dates
County Clerk has marriage records from 1850,
divorce, probate, and court records from 1854
and military enumeration from 1905. 
- County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Linn County Court House as of October 2004.
- Record Loss:
Parts were taken for
- 11 January 1854: Part taken for Wasco county
For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1861 The original county courthouse was destroyed by fire.
Places / Localities
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
|Native American communities|
Defunct Post Offices
Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. Trivia Tidbits
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1905 State Transcription
Church History and Records
Land and Deed Records
Military History and Records
- 1861-1865 - Oregon, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I
- 1921-1938 - Oregon, World War I, Veteran State Aid Applications, 1921-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images
Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Rivers and Waterways
Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways
The Family History Library has copies of some county records as following:
Linn County records of deaths 1903-1915, 1915-1947 (the cover title of this one is "Register of Physicians, Midwives and Undertakers", death certificates 1903-1947, coroner's inquest 1909-1960, index 1909-1960.
See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.
Delayed Birth Certificates
- 1826-1975 - Oregon, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- Extractions of early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index
- Marriage Index 1885-1896 Actually is a book of affiants reporting the marriages. Historical Records Collection
Societies, Libraries and Museums
Linn Genealogical Society
300 SW 4th Ave
Albany, OR 97321
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Linn County, OR History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Oregon Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Oregon Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Linn County GenWeb Project part of The ORGenWeb Project
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives (backup site)
- FamilySearch FamilySearch Catalog
Linn County Oregon Genealogy References
- Wikipedia contributors, "Linn, Oregon" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linn_County,_Oregon accessed 28 Nov 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Linn County, Oregon page 573, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- WorldCat 50140092 ▲ FamilySearch Catalog Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- Wikipedia contributors, "Linn County Oregon," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linn_County,_Oregon, accessed 28 November 2018.