Linn County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Missouri
Linn County

Guide to Linn County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Linn County, Missouri
Map
Map of Missouri highlighting Linn County
Location in the state of Missouri
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 6, 1837
County Seat Linneus
Courthouse
MissouriLinnCourthouse.jpg
Address Linn County Courthouse
108 N High
Linneus, MO 64653
Phone: 660.895.5417
Linn County Website


County Information

Linn County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1822 1857 1883 1840 1836 1840

County Courthouse


County Clerk has incomplete birth and death records 1883-1888; County Recorder has marriage and land records from 1842; Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce records 1837; Probate Office has probate records from 1840.[2]

History

Parent County

1837 Linn County was created 6 January 1837 from Chariton County. County seat: Linneus [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Adair  • Chariton  • Grundy  • Livingston  • Macon  • Sullivan

Linn CountyMacon CountyRandolph CountyChariton CountyCarroll CountyMercer CountyGrundy CountyLivingston CountyAdair CountySullivan CountyPutnam CountySchuyler CountyMOLinn.JPG

Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MOGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MOGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MOInterment
MOGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Linn County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

The history of Linn county, Missouri: An encyclopedia of useful information (1882) is available online free.

  • Prunty. Brookfield, past and present. S.l. : s.n.], 1905?.
  • "Compendium of history and biography of Linn County, Missouri...". Chicago : H. Taylor, 1912.
  • The History of Linn County, Missouri : history of the state of Missouri and its chief cities ... a reliable history of Linn County ... biographical sketches. Kansas City, Missouri : Birdsall & Dean, 1882.
  • Ellsberry, Elizabeth Prather. Linn County, Missouri, list of settlers of 1837-1840, deed book A-1837- 1844, list of landowners in county in 1876, nativity, land locations, year of settlement.

Maps

Molinn.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments

Service men in Linn County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Linn County, Missouri:

- 18th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 23rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 23rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
- 33rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
- 28th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 28th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 1st Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company F
- 1st Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company K
- 14th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 1st Battalion, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company F
- 28th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 28th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company L
- 28th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company M
- 2nd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 62nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 62nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 62nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 62nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 62nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 62nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 28th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 28th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 28th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 28th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 28th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 28th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 28th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Linn County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages


Deaths


Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

List of Missouri Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Historical Society

Linn County Historical Society-Tillmanhouse Museum
303 North Livingston Street
P.O. Box 394
Brookfield, MO 64658
Phone: 660-258-7160
Facebook

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Linn County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Missouri Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Linn County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Major genealogy resource library, located in Indiana. On home page enter "Linn Missouri" and search catalog.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Linn County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Linn County, Missouri Genealogy
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
Ancestry.com Linn County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Linn County, Missouri. Page 402 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.