Linn County, Kansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kansas
Linn County

Guide to Linn County, Kansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Mound City
Organized: August 30, 1855
Parent County(s): Original county [1]
Neighboring Counties
Allen  • Anderson  • Bates (MO)  • Bourbon  • Franklin  • Miami  • Vernon (MO)
See County Maps
Courthouse
KansasLinnCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Kansas highlighting Linn County svg.bmp
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Lewis F. Linn, a senator from Missouri. The County has Mound City as its seat and the County was created February 26, 1867. [2]The County is located in the east central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse

Linn County Courthouse
P.O. Box B
Mound City, Kansas 66056-0601
Phone: 913.795.2668
Linn County Website

Clerk District Court has probate and court records from 1855.
Register of Deeds has land records and military records from 1900.
County Library/Museum has birth, marriage, and death records from 1855, divorce records, cemetery records from 1910, military records 1861-1865 and newspapers from 1864. [1]

Linn County, Kansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1855 1855 1855 1855 1900 1855 1855
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.[5]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Linn County, Kansas:[6]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
Townships
  • Blue Mound
  • Centerville
  • Liberty
  • Lincoln
  • Mound City
  • Paris
  • Potosi
  • Scott
  • Sheridan
  • Stanton
  • Valley


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Linn County, Kansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kansas Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 6,336
1870 12,174 92.1%
1880 15,298 25.7%
1890 17,215 12.5%
1900 16,689 −3.1%
1910 14,735 −11.7%
1920 13,815 −6.2%
1930 13,534 −2.0%
1940 11,969 −11.6%
1950 10,053 −16.0%
1960 8,274 −17.7%
1970 7,770 −6.1%
1980 8,234 6.0%
1990 8,254 0.2%
2000 9,570 15.9%
2010 9,656 0.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Kansas became a territory in 1854 and the first territory census taken was in 1855. It was also enumerated as Kansas Territory in the 1860 Federal Census, although there were 15 counties that were marked with "no population" in them. The state continued to take state censuses after it was admitted to the Union in 1861.[7] See links listed below.

State and Territorial Census Records

Federal Census Records

The 1870 Census was the first Federal Census taken for Kansas after it became a state in 1861.[8] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Kansas Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Online Land Records

For more information see Kansas Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Linn County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Online County Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Franklin CountyMiami CountyAnderson CountyAllen CountyBourbon CountyCass County, MissouriBates County, MissouriVernon County, MissouriLinn, Kansas.JPG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War Battles

The following Civil War battles were fought in Linn County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Kansas.

During the Civil War men from this county enlisted in the 2nd Regiment, Kansas Cavalry, Company I; 2nd Regiment, Kansas Militia Infantry, Company F; 6th Regiment, Kansas Militia Infantry, Company K; 7th Regiment, Kansas Cavalry, Companies B and G; 11th Regiment, Kansas Infantry, Company A; 12 Regiment, Kansas Militia Infantry, Company K;  15th Regiment, Kansas Cavalry, Company M.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For more information, see Kansas Newspapers.

Kansas Newspapers Online

Kansas Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Voter Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Linn and click Probate records.


Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Linn County Historical Society
PO Box 137
Pleasanton 66075

Parker Genealogy Society
c/o Linn County District #1 Library,
224 Main Street
Parker, Kansas 66072
Telephone Number: 913-898-4650

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Linn County, Kansas. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Linn, Kansas Genealogy and History”, "http://genealogytrails.com/kan/linn/ 9/08/2017."
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Linn, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linn_County,_Kansas" 9/08/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Linn County, Kansas. Page 252 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. “Kansas Research Outline”, (Salt Lake City, Utah: Family History Department, 2000), 40.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Linn County, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linn_County,_Kansas#Communities, accessed 21 September 2017.
  7. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 118-119.
  8. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 119.
  9. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August, 2012)
  10. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August, 2012)