To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Linn County, Iowa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Linn County, Iowa)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Linn County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Linn County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Linn County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 21, 1837
County Seat Cedar Rapids
Courthouse


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Lewis Linn. The County has Cedar Rapids as its seat and the County was created 1839. The County is located in the central area of the state.[1]

Linn County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1880 1840 1880 1860 1841 1860 1847
Statewide registration started for births in July 1880 and for deaths Jan 1891. General compliance by 1924.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1837--Linn County was created 21 December 1837 from Dubuque County . It was attached to Jackson County prior to organization 1 June 1839.  County seat:  Cedar Rapids [3]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

1862: Stoney Point, Linn County.  Stoney Point was the local name given to an area between the towns of Cedar Rapids and Palo in the 1860s, near Covington. In 2010 there is a Stoney Point road on the northwest side of Cedar Rapids which intersects with State Highway 94. Names associated with this area in correspondence in 1862-1865 included: James Burt, Royalton Fifield, Mr. Kelsey, James Little, Thomas Parker, Furney Phelps, Levy Proutey, Charles Ribble, Henra Ribble, John T. Ribble, Mr. Sanborn, Homer Stedman, Charley Stedman, Comboy Stedman, Henra Usher, John Henry Willis.

The Stony Point school house (still standing in 1981) was located on the road before coming to Covington. The Usher family owned property in the Stoney Point area. They buried their family and friends on their property which eventually became Spring Grove cemetery.  Few of those buried there during the Civil War had stones erected.

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Benton • Buchanan • Cedar • Delaware • Iowa • Johnson • Jones

Resources[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
IAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
IAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Iowa Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.

Iowa GenWeb has an excellent source for cemeteries, many are already transcribed with photos.

Individual cemeteries:

Census[edit | edit source]

State Census

Church[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Court[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Linn County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


  • Linn county Iowa biographical history. The S. J. Clarke Publishing Co. [S.l.] : , 1901. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online

Maps[edit | edit source]

Buchanan CountyDelaware CountyJones CountyCedar CountyJohnson CountyIowa CountyBenton CountyIA LINN.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Linn County, Iowa Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Linn County, Iowa Genealogy:

- 1st Regiment, Iowa Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company K
- 6th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A
- 9th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
- 11th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
- 12th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
- 12th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
- 13th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A
- 13th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
- 16th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
- 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A
- 24th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
- 24th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
- 24th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
- 46th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company E
- 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company H
- 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company K

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives

Also see NewspaperArchive.com ($) for additional Cedar Rapids newspapers that may not be included in the Cedar Rapids Public Library database. This database is free at some libraries.

  • The Coe College Cosmos.1896, 1899-1910, 1912-44, 1948-51, 1969-71, and 1973. Cedar Rapids, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • Cedar Rapids Republican.1925-26. Cedar Rapids, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • Coe Cosmos.1939-44, 1946, 1948-67, 1969-73, and 1975-77. Cedar Rapids, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • Cosmos. 1898-1903 and 1909-12. Cedar Rapids, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • The Republican And Times. 1922. Cedar Rapids, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • The Evening Gazette.1913 and 1915-16. Cedar Rapids, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • The New Cosmos.1976-77. Cedar Rapids, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • Coe College Cosmos. 1899. Coe College, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Probate[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Linn - Probate records.


Taxation[edit | edit source]

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online.

Births[edit | edit source]
Marriages[edit | edit source]
Deaths[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libaries[edit | edit source]

Carl & Mary Koehler History Center
615 1st Avenue Southeast
Cedar Rapids, IA 52401
Telephone:319-362-1501
E-mail: office@historycenter.org
Website

Genealogical Society of Linn County
P.O. Box 175
813 1st Ave S.E.
Cedar Rapids, IA, 52406-0175
Telephone:319-369-0022
E-mail: gensoclinncoia@aol.com
Website

Springville Area Historical Society
304 Broadway Ave
PO Box 382
Springville, IA 52336
E-mail: SAHSinfo@gmail.com
Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites[edit | edit source]



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Linn County, Iowa Genealogy
State Historical Society of Iowa Free Select from research collection topics
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "linn county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "linn county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
genealogytrails.com Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Linn County, Iowa Genealogy
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Linn County IA at LDS Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Linn County, Iowa Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Linn County, Iowa Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Linn County Message Board

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Linn, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linn_County,_Iowa."
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Linn County, Iowa. Page 230-238 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 222-225.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).