Guide to Lindon, Utah ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Lindon was established as a settlement in 1861 by pioneer families. It was named after the Linden tree but the spelling was mistakenly written as "Lindon", which became the offical spelling.
Growing rapidly in the late 1990's and through the first decade of the 21st century, the little country town is now a bedroom community for over 10,000 residents.
Lindon is well known in the Emergency Preparedness community throughout the United States due to First Place City Preparedness awards in 2009, 2010 and 2011 for any city of any size. The awards are based on city, business, school and resident preparedness planning and involvement in an annual citywide emergency drill in addition to a high-level of involvement in preparedness as a way of life for residents, businesses and city governmental departments.
The city motto Lindon - A little bit o' country represents the relaxed nature of the community where almost all residential lots are .5 acre or larger and include animal rights.
Lindon City Cemetery
946 West Center St.
Many experts recommend starting your research with the death records first. A first thought might be to begin instead with birth records, but the death record is the most recent record. It may be more likely to be available to you. Death records are kept in the state where your ancestor died, not where they were buried. However these records can provide a burial location. Death records are especially helpful because they may provide important information on a person's birth, spouse, and parents. Some researchers look first for death records because there are often death records for persons who have no birth or marriage records.
Death records are frequently considered as primary source records for the death and burial dates, locations and cause of death. They are secondary sources for birth information unless the birth occurred within days of the death.
Utah requires a death certificate before a burial is completed. A death certificate may contain information as to the name of the deceased,date of death and place of death, as well as the age, birth date, parents, gender, marital status, spouse and place of residence.
- Utah Death Certificates Index 1904-1956- A free internet access to the death cerificates can be viewed at FamilySearch Catalog
- For deaths before 1904 see Utah State Burial Index
Birth and Marriage Records
Utah Census Records
Church History and Records
- Main article: Lindon, Utah LDS Wards and Branches
- Utah Digital Newspapers
- LOC Chronicling America Digitized Newspapers
- Utah County Newspapers
- Utah Newspapers - BYU Lee Library