Lindesberg Parish, Örebro, Sweden Genealogy
Guide to Lindesberg Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 History
- 2 Place Names
- 3 Platser i Lindesbergs stad var bara numrerade inom distrikten (rotar). För platser inom Lindesbergs landsbygdssamfund se Linde (Lindesberg Landsförsamling).
- 4 Collections
- 4.1 Census Records
- 4.2 Church Records
- 4.3 Military Records
- 4.4 Related Sources
- 4.5 Help Reading Swedish Records
- 4.6 Help Reading Old Handwriting
- 4.7 Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
- 4.8 References
History(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
|Lindesberg Parish, Örebro, Sweden Genealogy|
|Tingslag||1967-1970 Lindes and Nora domsaga|
|Domsaga||1967-1970 Lindes and Nora, 1971- Lindesberg|
|Kommun||1967-1970 Lindesbergs stad, 1971- Lindesberg|
|NAD Ref Code||SE/ULA/10851|
|National Archive SVAR||link|
|SCB Congregation map||link|
|Open Street map||link|
Places within the city of Lindesberg were just numbered within districts (rotar). For places within the rural parish of Lindesberg see Linde (Lindesberg Landsförsamling).
Platser i Lindesbergs stad var bara numrerade inom distrikten (rotar). För platser inom Lindesbergs landsbygdssamfund se Linde (Lindesberg Landsförsamling).
To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.
- Surrounding Parishes
- Sweden Household Examination Records (Husförhörslängder)--explanation of this church record which is functionally the census of Sweden.
- Sweden Household Examination Books, 1880 - 1920, ($), index and images. Also on Arkiv Digital ($), and SVAR at Riksarkivet.
Online Database Church Records
The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)
- Sweden, Örebro Church Records, 1613-1918; index 1635-1860 at FamilySearch.
- MyHeritage.com ($),
- Ancestry.com ($),
- Arkiv Digital ($), and
- SVAR at Riksarkivet.
Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden
- These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:
Family History Library Records
Click Sweden, Örebro Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Örebro" and then select your parish.
Help Reading Swedish Records
- You do not have to be fluent in Swedish to read these records! They have a limited vocabulary: mother, father, born, bride, groom, married, etc. The rest of the content will be names, dates, and places, which do not need translation.
- This Swedish Word List covers typical terms found in the records.
- Swedish Historical Dictionary Database, SHDD: This interactive dictionary allows you to enter a word in the search box and receive the translation.
- Feast Day Calendar (Moveable) and Feast Day Lists (Fixed and Moveable) will help you translate dates written in feast day form.
- Sweden surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.
- For help with reading the column headings found in more recent records, see Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings.
- Instructions, document examples, and translations are given for Reading Swedish Birth and Christening Records 1717, 1752, 1771, 1792, 1803, 1834, 1854.
Help Reading Old Handwriting
- Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records: (free, online lessons at FamilySearch):
Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. "Lindesberg Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). May 2012 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/