To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Lindås Parish, Hordaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Lindås, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Lindås Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Bergenhus
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1763: Bergenhus, 1763-1919: Søndre Bergenhus
Fylke 1919-Present Hordaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Lindaas
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Lindaas
Fogderi Nordhordland
Sorenskriveri Nordhordland
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Microfilm of parish registers available at the Family History Library for Lindås clerical district. Contains parish registers for the parishes Lindås, Austrheim, Lygra, Myking and Fedje. Included Masfjorden until 1875. Records available from 1699-1929.

(Film no. 1282865 item 3 targetboard lists Alversund parish. It should be Lygra parishin Lindås clerical district. Film no. 1694599 item 3 targetboard lists Alversund clerical district Lygra parish, which is wrong. It should read Lindås clerical district Lygra parish. Records available from 1699-1929).

Kirkebøker fra Lindaas prestegjeld, 1699-1746/ etter avskrift av Elna F. Luker. An extract of the christening records from the church books for Lindås clerical district in Hordaland county 1699-1746, are available at the Family History Library.

Images of digitized parish registers are available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Lindås: 1699-1932
Lindås/Austrheim: 1699-1927
Lindås/Fedje: 1699-1928
Lindås/Lindås: 1699-1929
Lindås/Lygra: 1699-1932
Lindås/Myking: 1699-1921
Lindås/Sandnes: 1699-1885

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666 Census Fogdens og sorenskriverens manntall 1664-1666 This census was taken by the local civil authorities. Nordhordland Fogderi for Lindaas (Lindås) clerical district included Lindås, Fedje, Austrheim, Myking, Lygra and Masfjorden parishes. This census is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 122979 Item 4. It is online at Digitalarkivet as scanned images and also as a database.
  • 1664-1666 Census Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666 This census was taken by the local parish priests. Nordhordland Prosti forLindaas (Lindås) clerical district includedLindås, Fedje, Austrheim, Myking, Lygra and Masfjorden parishes. This census is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 122972 Item 1. It is online at Digitalarkivet as scanned images and also as a database. Of the two records the Sogneprestenes mantall is the most complete. Database at Digitalarkivet Prestemanntallet 1666 for Lindås
  • 1801 Census The 1801 census for Lindås clerical district includes Lindås, Lygra, Myking, and Masfjorden parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 123002 Item 3. It is online at Digitalarkivet as 1801-telling for 1263 Lindaas
  • 1865 Census The 1865 census for Lindås clerical district includes Lindås, Lygra, Myking, Austrheim, Fedje and Masfjorden parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 12373 Item 2. It is online at Digitalarkivet as 1865-telling for 1263 Lindaas
  • 1875 Census The 1875 census for Lindås clerical district includes Lindås, Lygra, Myking, Austrheim, Fedje and Masfjorden parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Films 272476-273478 and online as a database at Digitalarkivet 1875-telling for Lindås sokn.
  • 1900 Census The 1900 census for Lindås clerical district includesLindås, Lygra, Myking, Austrheim and Fedje parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History LibraryFilms 274318-274321. It is online at Digitalarkivet as 1900-telling for 1263 Lindaas.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Toft, Martin, Bygdebok for Lindås, [Norway] : Lindås bygdeboknemnd, 1981-. Genealogies of the people and their farms in Myking parish (v. 1) and Lygra and (Hundvin) parishes (v. 2) in Lindås clerical district in Hordaland county along with some history of the area. FHL 948.32/L1 D2t Contents: v. 1. Myking sokn : Gards- og ættesoge -- v. 2. Lygra og Hundvin sokner : Gards- og personhistorie / Olav Ones -- v. 3. Lindås sokn, gards- og ættesoge gnr 87 - gnr 108 / Arvid Skogseth -- v. 4. Lindås sokn, gards- og ættesoge gnr 109-gnr 127 / Arvid Skogseth.

A farm name index to this book is found in the following link. File:948.32-L1 D2t v1 - LINDAS-1.pdf

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

91 Brunsland

112 Finnesbø 103 Fjellanger 100 Fjellsende 106 Fonnebost

98 Gaulen 125 Goten

103 Haalen 116 Haalen 125 Halteigen 90 Hauge 103 Haugen 126 Haugen 89 Haugsmyr 104 Haukaas 122 Hellestveit 93 Hetlehovde 105 Holmaas 126 Hope

115 Kaardal 124 Kjeilegavlen 125 Kjeilen indre 121 Knarvik 107 Kolaas

116 Lauaas 97 Løtveit

88 Maraas 127 Mongstad 103 Myren

91 Nymark

108 Præstegaarden

95 Refsdal 123 Rise 117 Rossnes 122 Rusket

109 Saltnes 113 Sirsæter 111 Skaarnes 94 Skodven nedre 126 Skogen 87 Spjeldnes 123 Stølen 119 Sundsbø 110 Syslok

118 Tjukhetle 92 Træland 120 Tvibernes 120 Tvibernesøen

99 Vaage 99 Vaagseidet 102 Vabu 101 Vabunes 114 Veraas

For a larger list of farm names, click here: https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/File:948.32-L1_D2t_v1_-_LINDAS-1.pdf, then click again on the next link.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

From 1702-1910: Records are found in Nordhordaland, 1702-1910 judicial district.


1800-1852: Some of the farms in this parish belonged to Lysekloster Estate. If the probate is not found in the district above look at Hardanger og Voss where the probates for Lysekloster were kept.

1773-1810: Clerical probate records are found in Nordhordaland Deanery.

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names