Lincolnshire Church Records

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Lincolnshire Wiki Topics
Flag of Lincolnshire.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Lincolnshire Background
Local Research Resources

Parish Registers[edit | edit source]

Images of Lincolnshire's parish registers are available online at findmypast (£).

Images of Lincolnshire's parish registers are available online at Lincs to the Past.

Baptisms

  1. There are currently 3.6 million indexed christening/baptism entries for the whole county of Lincolnshire at FamilySearch.org . Be certain to search the main search engine to ensure you are searching the most comprehensive database for this rich online collection of christenings/baptisms for this county. Some of these church register online indexes go up as late as 1910.
  2. Findmypast.co.uk currently publishes 4.8 million entries--many of them are baptisms
  3. FreeReg.org.uk also provides online access to about 82 percent county coverage of Lincolnshire christenings/baptisms, at no cost.

Marriages

  1. There are currently 1.7 million indexed marriage entries published online for the whole county of Lincolnshire at FamilySearch.org. Be certain to search the main search engine to ensure you are searching the most comprehensive database for this rich online collection of marriages for this county. These church register online marriage indexes go up to as ate as 1920 for some parishes.
  2. Findmypast.co.uk currently publishes about 1 million marriage entries.
  3. FreeReg.org.uk also provides online access to about 82 percent county coverage of Lincolnshire marriages, at no cost
  4. 110 Lincolnshire parishes are indexed in Joiner's Marriage Index (£). Coverage.[1]

Burials

  1. There are currently 1.6 million indexed burial entries published online for the whole county of Lincolnshire at FamilySearch.org. Be certain to search the main search engine to ensure you are searching the most comprehensive database for this rich online collection of burials for this county. Some of these church register online indexes go up as late as 1963 for burials.
  2. Findmypast.co.uk currently publishes about 1.6 million burial entries.
  3. FreeReg.org.uk also provides online access to about 82 percent county coverage of Lincolnshire burials, at no cost.
  4. Burials from 666 Lincolnshire places (768,240 entries) are included in the National Burial Index (£). Coverage.[2] . Findmypast.co.uk has the first edition of this National Burial Index available to search as well.

Bastardy Orders, Summonses and Bonds.  All Lincolnshire.  Transcription of Bastardy Orders, Summonses and Bonds, in alphabetical order, giving the name of child, sometimes the father's name, and mother,place and the date, one starting as early as 1765.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 86, pages 75-77, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Marriage Licences[edit | edit source]

  • 1598-1628 - Lincoln Marriage Licences, Bishop of Lincoln, 1598-1628 (1888). Digitised by Google Books - free.
  • 1628-1837 - Lincolnshire Marriage Licence Bonds and Allegations at findmypast.[3]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 'Coverage of the Joiner Marriage Index', The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 1 September 2013.
  2. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 1 September 2013.
  3. 'Lincolnshire Marriage Licence Bonds and Allegations,' findmypast, accessed 27 February 2014.