Lincoln St Peter at Arches, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Lincoln St Peter at Arches

Guide to Lincoln St Peter at Arches, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lincoln St Peter at Arches, Lincolnshire
Lincoln St Giles Lincolnshire.jpg
Lincoln St Giles Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lincoln
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Lincoln
Registration District Lincoln
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Christianity
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Lincoln St Peter at Arches  was built in 1724 by Lincoln Council for use in the council's civic services, and stood next to the Guildhall. The organ was built in the 19th century by Father Willis, who also built Lincoln Cathedral's present organ.

The church was demolished in the 20th century as part of urban redevelopment.

The present church of St Giles now houses much of the parish church contents including 8 bells from 1728 and the organ and was built in 1936 by W.G.Watkins.

Lincoln St. Peter at Arches lies within the boundary of Lincoln the Virgin Mary Cathedral (Ancient Parish). This Parish was functioning by at least the year 1561. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present d. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Lincoln St Peter at Arches parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Lincolnshire, Parish Registers, 1538-1990 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Lincolnshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Lincolnshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr Index = Lincolnshire Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Lincolnshire Marriage Licence Bonds and Allegations (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Lincoln St Peter at Arches Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1990
1538-1990
1538-1990
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1911
1537-1911
1537-1970
FMP Banns

1647-1911


FMP Marr Index

1700-1837


FMP Marr

1628-1837


JOIN

1538-1837


NBI



1754-2002
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.

All Lincoln parishes now have available images online from Lincs to the past website. Use Advanced search terms Par 1 and the name of the parish Search Lincs to the past to identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street Lincoln Lincolnshire LN2 5AB England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Lincoln St Peter at Arches

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Lincoln Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Lincoln/


References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 87-95.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk