Lincoln County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lincoln County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Lincoln County


Guide to Lincoln County, Wisconsin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Merrill
Organized: March 4, 1874
Parent County(s): Marathon County[1]
Neighboring Counties
Langlade  • Marathon  • Oneida  • Price  • Taylor
See County Maps
Courthouse
Lincoln County Wisconsin Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
WI Lincoln.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Abraham Lincoln. The County has Merrill as its seat and the County was created 1875. The County is located in the north central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Lincoln County Courthouse
1110 E Main Street
Merrill, WI 54452-2554
Phone: 715-536-0312
Lincoln County Website

Register of Deeds has marriage and land records.
Register in Probate has probate records.
Clerk of Courts has court records.[3]

Lincoln County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1875 1875 1871 1885 1867 1883 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1907. General compliance year unknown.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1874--Lincoln County was created 4 March 1874 from Marathon County.
  • County seat: Merrill[5]

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Lincoln County, Wisconsin:[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Lincoln County, Wisconsin online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 2,011
1890 12,008 497.1%
1900 16,269 35.5%
1910 19,064 17.2%
1920 21,084 10.6%
1930 21,072 −0.1%
1940 22,536 6.9%
1950 22,235 −1.3%
1960 22,338 0.5%
1970 23,499 5.2%
1980 26,555 13.0%
1990 26,993 1.6%
2000 29,641 9.8%
2010 28,743 −3.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Lincoln census records online, see: Wisconsin Census.

State Census

Federal Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran

  • Records of Our Savior's Lutheran Church, Merrill, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

WI LINCOLN.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Lincoln served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lincoln:

World War I

  • Wis Gold Star List Men from Lincoln County who died in service during World War. WIGenWeb project

Vietnam War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Lincoln Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the Lincoln Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state.

For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.

For additional information, see Wisconsin Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

  • Neils R. Kampenga Archives and Area Research Center
    University of Wisconsin Library
    900 Reserve Street, Room 520
    Stevens Point, WI 54481-1962
    Phone: 715-346-2586
    Website
    Email: archives@uwsp.edu
    Facebook

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Merrill Historical Society
    804 E 3rd St
    Merrill, WI 54452
    Phone: 715-536-6606
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County, Wisconsin " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_Wisconsin."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, Wisconsin. Page 755-760, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 757-759.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County, Wisconsin," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_Wisconsin, accessed 21 September 2018.