Lincoln County, Oregon Genealogy
Guide to Lincoln County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Lincoln County, Oregon|
Location in the state of Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
|Founded||February 20, 1893|
|Address|| Lincoln County Courthouse|
225 W Olive Street
Newport, OR 97365
Lincoln County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Quick Facts
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Biography
- 5.2 Cemeteries
- 5.3 Census
- 5.4 Church History and Records
- 5.5 Court Records
- 5.6 Gazetteers
- 5.7 History
- 5.8 Land and Property
- 5.9 Maps
- 5.10 Military History and Records
- 5.11 Newspapers
- 5.12 Probate Records
- 5.13 Rivers and Waterways
- 5.14 Taxation
- 5.15 Vital Records
- 6 Societies, Libraries and Museums
- 7 Websites
- 8 Lincoln County Oregon Genealogy References
Lincoln County, Oregon Record Dates
County Clerk has birth and death records 1907-1916,
marriage records from 1905, land records from 1893,
military discharge records from 1945 and voter
registration from 1920.
District Court has divorce, probate and court records. 
20 February 1893: The county was created from Benton and Polk Counties. Named for Abraham Lincoln, 16th president of the United States of America. The irony is that he was offered Governorship of Oregon Territory but he turned it down and it was offered to Joseph Lane instead. 
County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Lincoln County Court House as of September 2004.
For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
The following are locations in the county:
|Native American communities|
Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. Trivia Tidbits
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.|
Church History and Records
Land and Property
Military History and Records
- 1861-1865 - Oregon, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
Rivers and Waterways
Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways
See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.
Delayed Birth Certificates
- 1826-1975 - Oregon, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- Extractions of early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index
- Marriage Index 1885-1896 Actually is a book of affiants reporting the marriages. Historical Records Collection
Societies, Libraries and Museums
Lincoln County Historical Society
545 Sw 9th St
North Lincoln County Historical Museum
4907 SW Hwy 101
Lincoln City, OR 97367
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Lincoln City Oregon Family History Center 3565 NE Devils Lake Rd Lincoln City OR 97367-5038 United States Location on Map
- Newport Oregon Family History Center 2229 NE Crestview Dr Newport OR 97365 United States Locaton on Map
- Lincoln County, OR History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Oregon Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Oregon Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Lincoln County GenWeb Project part of The ORGenWeb Project
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives (backup site)
- FamilySearch FamilySearch Catalog
Lincoln County Oregon Genealogy References
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, Oregon page 573, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- WorldCat 50140092 ▲ FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County, Oregon," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_Oregon, accessed 6 November 2018.