Lincoln County, Oklahoma Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lincoln County, Oklahoma)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Lincoln County

Guide to Lincoln County, Oklahoma ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Chandler
Organized: 1891
Parent County(s): Iowa-Sac-Fox Pottawatomie-Shawnee lands[1]
Neighboring Counties
Creek  • Logan  • Okfuskee  • Oklahoma  • Payne  • Pottawatomie
See County Maps
Location Map

County Information


Lincoln county seat is Chandler.[2] The name Lincoln County was in honor of President Abraham Lincoln. Lincoln County was formed on 1891. Chandler is the county seat. [3]

County Courthouse

Lincoln County Courthouse
800 Manvel Ave.
Chandler, Oklahoma 74834-0126
Phone: 405.258.1264

Lincoln County Courthouse
800 Manvel Avenue
Chandler, OK 74834-0126
Phone: 405.258-1264

Clerk District Court has marriage,divorce, probate and court records from 1900; County Clerk has land records[1]

Lincoln County, Oklahoma Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1908 1891 1891 1893 1900

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Lincoln County, Oklahoma:[4]


  • Chandler (County Seat)
  • Meeker
  • Prague
  • Stroud


  • Agra
  • Avery
  • Carney
  • Davenport
  • Fallis
  • Kendrick
  • Sparks
  • Tryon
  • Warwick
  • Wellston

Unincorporated Communities

  • Jacktown
  • Midlothian
  • Parkland
  • Rossville

History Timeline


Bible Records


Business, Commerce, and Occupations


Cemeteries of Lincoln County, Oklahoma online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Oklahoma Cemeteries for more information


Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1900 27,007
1910 34,779 28.8%
1920 33,406 −3.9%
1930 33,738 1.0%
1940 29,529 −12.5%
1950 22,102 −25.2%
1960 18,783 −15.0%
1970 19,482 3.7%
1980 26,601 36.5%
1990 29,216 9.8%
2000 32,080 9.8%
2010 34,273 6.8%
Source: "".

For tips on accessing Lincoln County, Oklahoma Genealogy census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Oklahoma starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Oklahoma Census.

State Census Records

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

Court Records


Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

American Indians


Land and Property

Funeral Homes



Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

For more information see Oklahoma Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lincoln County, Oklahoma Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers



Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship


Oklahoma Newspapers Online

Oklahoma Newspaper Catalogs

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lincoln County, Oklahoma Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Other Records


Probate Records

In most counties in Oklahoma, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Oklahoma - Lincoln - Probate records.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.


Online Birth Records Indexes and Images


Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images


Online Death Records Indexes and Images


Online Divorce Records Indexes and Images

Research Facilities


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.




Lincoln County Historical Society and Museum of Pioneer History
717 Manvel Avenue
Chandler, OK 74834
Telephone: 405-258-2425
FAX: 405-258-1809


Research Guides


  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Oklahoma. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. accessed 09/29/2016
  3.,_Oklahoma accessed 09/29/2016
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County, Oklahoma," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,,_Oklahoma, accessed 6 August 2016.