Lincoln County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Lincoln County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Lincolnton
Organized: April 14, 1778
Parent County(s): Tryon[1]
Neighboring Counties
Burke  • Catawba  • Cleveland  • Gaston  • Iredell  • Mecklenburg
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaLincolnCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nc-lincoln.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Lincoln County is located in the southwestern portion of North Carolina and was named for Revolutionary War general Benjamin Lincoln, who was appointed by George Washington to receive Lord Charles Cornwallis's sword when the British commander surrendered at Yorktown.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Lincoln County Courthouse
115 W Main Street
PO Box 218
Lincolnton, NC 28093
Phone: 704-736-8534
Lincoln County Website

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and burial and land records.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1920, and probate records from 1869.[3]

Lincoln County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913 1779 1913 1920 1763 1869 1784
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • 1797 Fire in home, small record loss

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1778 Lincoln County was created 14 April 1778 from Tryon County. Tryon County was abolished in 1779.
  • County seat: Lincolnton[5]

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Catawba Springs
  • Howards Creek
  • Ironton
  • Lincolnton
  • North Brook


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Lincoln County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 9,246
1800 12,660 36.9%
1810 16,359 29.2%
1820 18,147 10.9%
1830 22,455 23.7%
1840 25,160 12.0%
1850 7,746 −69.2%
1860 8,195 5.8%
1870 9,573 16.8%
1880 11,061 15.5%
1890 12,586 13.8%
1900 15,498 23.1%
1910 17,132 10.5%
1920 17,862 4.3%
1930 22,872 28.0%
1940 24,187 5.7%
1950 27,459 13.5%
1960 28,814 4.9%
1970 32,682 13.4%
1980 42,372 29.6%
1990 50,319 18.8%
2000 63,780 26.8%
2010 78,265 22.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist

  • Catawbo River. Constituted 1785.[7]

Lutheran

  • Daniels Church, near Lincolnton, N.C. Organized 1774.[8]
  • Grace Evangelical Lutheran Church, near Startown, N.C. Organized before 1797.[9] Later located in Catawba.
  • St. John's Lutheran Church, near Conover, N.C. Organized before 1798.[10] Later located in Catawba.
  • St. Paul's Lutheran Church, near Conover, N.C. Organized before 1771.[11] Originally located in Tryon; later located in Catawba.


List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Burke CountyCatawba CountyIredell CountyMecklenburg CountyGaston CountyCleveland CountyNC LINCOLN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Lincoln County for European settlers included:[12]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Lincoln County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lincoln County:

- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company D
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry,usually known as the Bethel Regiment, Company K
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company C
- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company K
- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company E
- 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company I

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1776 - Tax lists, Tryon County, 1776 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, at Ancestry $
  • 1778-1840 - Tax lists online at NCGenWeb.
  • 1784-1886 - Tax lists, undated; tax lists, 1784-1785, 1789, 1792, 1805-1806, 1817-1822, 1825-1844, 1846-1853, 1856-1886. Images online at FamilySearch.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Lincoln County Public Library
    306 W. Main St.
    Lincolnton, NC 28092
    Phone: 704-732-9040
    Website
  • Gaston County Public Library
    1555 E. Garrison Blvd.
    Gastonia, NC 28054
    Phone: 704-868-2164, dial 2
    Website
    Collection focuses on Gaston, Lincoln and Tryon Counties.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Gaston-Lincoln Genealogical Society
    PO Box 584
    Mt. Holly, NC 28120
    Website
  • Broad River Genealogical Society
    PO Box 2261
    Shelby, NC 28151-2261
    Website
  • Lincoln County Historical Association
    403 E. Main St.
    Lincolnton, NC 28092
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/lincoln
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County, North Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_North_Carolina, accessed 20 February 2020.
  7. George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 2:562. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  8. "Daniels Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  9. "Grace Evangelical Lutheran Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  10. "St. John's Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  11. "Old St. Paul's Lutheran Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  12. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  13. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.