Lincoln County, Nevada Genealogy
Guide to Lincoln County, Nevada ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Lincoln County Courthouse
Lincoln County, Nevada Record Dates
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Lincoln County boundaries were modified on three other occasions. In 1867, a portion of the western edge of Lincoln County was ceded to Nye County. In 1875, the northern boundary was adjusted following the acquisition of the northeast corner of Nye County. But the largest boundary adjustment occurred in the year 1909, when Lincoln County was split in half and Clark County was formed from the southern half.
The following are locations in the county:
A selected list, previously posted on this page:
- Until 1821 - New Spain controlled land that later would become Nevada. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
- In 1821 - Mexico obtained jurisdiction over the land that later would become Nevada. Records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City.
- 18 Aug 1846 - During the war with Mexico, the US took control of Santa Fe and proclaimed sovereignty over land that later became the Nevada Territory. Look for records in the National Archives and Records Administration, the Mexico Archives and the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives.
- 4 July 1848 - In the Treaty of Guadalupe-Hidalgo, Mexico ceded land that later became present day Nevada.  Look for records in the National Archives and Records Administration, the Mexico Archives and the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives.
- 9 Jan 1852 - New Mexico redefined the boundaries of previous counties and created new ones to cover all the land within its territory. The New Mexico counties of Taos, San Juan (1861-1862 only), Rio Arriba, Santa Ana, Bernalillo, Valencia, and Socorro counties covered land that would later become the southern part of Lincoln county.   Look for records in Dona Ana County, Socorro County, Bernalillo, Rio Arriba, Taos, and Valencia counties.
- 24 Feb 1863 - The US created the Arizona Territory from the western half of New Mexico Territory. This territory contained land that would later become the southern part of Lincoln county. Look for records in the Arizona State Library and New Mexico State Records Center and Archives
- 10 Nov 1864 - Mohave County was created as one of the four original counties in Arizona.  This county included land that would later become the southern part of Lincoln county. Look for records in Mohave County.
- 22 December 1865 - Pah-Ute County was created by Arizona out of the north part of Mohave County. This county included land that would later become the southern part of Lincoln county. Look for records in Mohave County.
- 18 January 1867 - A large portion of Pah-Ute County and a smaller portion of Mohave County was given to Nevada by the US government. Nevada used the land to increase Lincoln and Nye counties. Utah opposed this transfer of land by creating Rio Virgin County which extended out of Utah, covering a large portion of southern Lincoln and Nye counties. Arizona opposed loosing this land, twice petitioned Congress for repeal of the law. Up thru 1868, representatives from Pah-Ute county attended the Arizona legislature. Look for records in Mohave County AZ, Washington County UT, Nye County NV and Lincoln County NV.
- 18 February 1871 - Arizona discontinued Pah-Ute County, finally accepting the loss after exhausting all legal remedies. The remainder of Pah-Ute County AZ was restored to Mohave County AZ. Look for records in Mohave County AZ
- 16 February 1872 - Utah discontinued Rio Virgin County, finally accepting the transfer after exhausting all legal remedies. The tiny bit of Rio Virgin County actually in Utah was restored to Washington County.
Business, Commerce, and Occupations
The following web site has additional information on Lincoln county cemeteries.
- Interment.net Nevada cemetery records by county.
The first enumeration for Nevada before it was a state in 1864, was in the 1850 Census in both New Mexico and Utah Territories, but the area had not been divided into counties. Those living there may be in the Utah 1851 Census. For 1860, Nevada was again enumerated in New Mexico and Utah Territories.  A partial state census exists for Nevada in 1862 and 1863 and a full state census exists for 1875.  See links listed below.
State and Territory Census Records
- 1850 - United States Census, 1850 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; Nevada was included in both the 1850 New Mexico and Utah Territory Censuses.
- 1860 - United States Census, 1860 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; Nevada was included in both the 1860 New Mexico and Utah Territory Censuses.
- 1860 - Nevada, Compiled Census Index, 1860-1910 at Ancestry - ($), index
- 1862-1863 - 1862-1863 Nevada Territory Tax List - Index
- 1875 - Nevada State Census, 1875 at Ancestry.com — ($), index
Federal Census Records
Federal Censuses were taken for the state of Nevada starting in 1870. Although, those living in south-eastern Nevada in 1870 may be enumerated in Utah or Arizona because of disputed boundaries with Nevada. For links to Federal Census indexes, see Nevada Census.
Transcriptions of many Lincoln County federal census records are available online as part of The USGenWeb Project. Click on the links below to search a particular census.
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.
LDS Ward and Branch Records
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
Land and Property Records
The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.
In the FamilySearch Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, Lincoln – LAND AND PROPERTY
Lincoln County Courthouse
181 Main Street
Pioche, Nevada 89043
Hours: M-F 8am-5pm; Closed on legal holidays
Record Highlights: Real estate deeds, mortgages, mining deeds and notices, maps, and early vital records (births, marriages, and deaths). Note, only births and deaths prior to 1911 are accessible to the public. Researchers can also access bound volumes of early Lincoln County newspapers, such as the Pioche Daily Record, 1872-1876.
On-site researchers can obtain photocopies of documents from the recorder's office. Photocopying cost have been set at $1.00 per page. Researchers are also allowed to take digital photographs of documents, however, a $1.00 fee is assessed for each photograph taken.
Online Land Records
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
- 1796 - 1907 - U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website
- 1861 - 1936 - U.S. Homestead Records 1861-1936 at Ancestry.com - ($), index and images
For more information see Nevada Land and Property
County histories may include biographies of early settlers and residents, church and school information, and local military regiments at the time of publication.
- A History of Lincoln County, Nevada, 1776-1874. c1959. By Richard E. Gillies. Salt Lake city, Utah: University of Utah. Church History Library; At various libraries(WorldCat).
- An Overview of the History of Lincoln County. c1978. By Ralph Joseph Roske. Las Vegas, Nevada: University of Nevada. At various libraries(WorldCat).
- Delamar, Nevada. c1992. By Donald Thomas Clark. Lake Grove, Or. : The Depot. FamilySearch Books; At various libraries(WorldCat).
- Lincoln County, Nevada, 1864-1909: History of a Mining Region. c1971. By James W. Hulse. Reno, Nevada: University of Nevada Press. At various libraries(WorldCat).
- Treasures of Tempiute. c1967. By Eva Hyde Koyen. Sparks, Nevada : Western Print & Pub. Co. At various libraries(WorldCat).
Online County Histories
- Lincoln County: Land of Many Frontiers. c1981. By James W. Hulse. N.p: n.p. Online at: University of Nevada, Reno, Nevada Historical Society Quarterly; At various libraries(WorldCat).
- Settlement of Lincoln County and White Pine County, Nevada, by Utah Pioneers. c2006. By Mary N. Porte Harris. Salt Lake City, Utah : Daughters of Utah Pioneers. Online at: Family Search Catalog; At various libraries(WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of Nevada - shows boundary changes for Nevada Counties
- Historical Maps and Atlases of Nevada - maps and atlases of Nevada
Early migration routes to and from Lincoln County, Nevada Genealogy for emigrant settlers included:
- Mormon Trail 1846 to 1869 from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah
- Mormon Trail to Southern California 1847 from Salt Lake City, Utah to Los Angeles, California
- Union Pacific Railroad 1869 Ogden, Utah (among others) to Omaha, Nebraska
- 1861-1865 - Nevada, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1863-1866 - Nevada Civil War Volunteers, 1863-1866 ($) at Ancestry — index
World War I
World War II
- Nevada Military Killed in Action in Korea
- U.S. Military Fatal Casualties of the Korean War for Nevada
- Nevada Military Killed in Action in Vietnam
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Nevada
- Vietnam Conflict Casualty Lists - Nevada
For further information see Nevada Military Records.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Online Naturalization Records
For more information, see Nevada Newspapers.
- The Lincoln County Record is the official newspaper of Lincoln County. It is published weekly every Thursday. The paper's roots trace back to the early 1870s. Over the course of its history, the paper has been known by several titles: The Ely Record,1870-1872; Pioche Daily Record, 1872-1876; Pioche Weekly Record, 1877-1900; Lincoln County Record, 1900-1905; Pioche Weekly Record, 1906-1908; Pioche Daily Record, 1908-1925; Lincoln County Record, 1925-1932; Pioche Record, 1932-1968; and since 1968, the newspaper has been titled the Lincoln County Record.
Nevada Newspapers Online
- GenealogyBank - ($), contains images of Nevada newspapers
- Newspaper Archive - ($), contains images of Nevada newspapers
- Chronicling America - contains images of some Nevada newspapers; searching tips
- Elephind - Free; search engine that retrieves newspaper images from other free newspaper websites
Nevada Newspaper Catalogs
- U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper
- Scott, Patricia A. "Obituaries Published in the Pioche Daily Record, 1872-1878." Database. NVGenWeb.org. Lincoln County Nevada Heritage Collection. http://www.nvgenweb.org/lincoln/PDRobits.txt: 2010.
Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.
Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).
A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.
- 1809 - 2011 Western States Marriage Index, 1809-2011 - Index, incomplete, list of counties included
- 1956 - 2005 Nevada Marriage Index 1956-2005 at Ancestry ($)
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
Caliente Branch Library
100 Depot Avenue
Caliente, Nevada 89008
Alamo Branch Library
100 South First West
Alamo, Nevada 89001
Lincoln County Library
63 Main Street
Pioche, Nevada 89043
Hours: M,T,Th 10am-3pm; W 1pm-6pm
Lincoln County Historical Museum
69 Main Street
Pioche, Nevada 89043
Hours: Daily 10am-1pm and 2pm-4pm; Closed major holidays
Million Dollar Courthouse
25 Lacour Street
Pioche, Nevada 89043
Hours: Open April to October 10am-4pm
- Record highlights: The museum houses several early original record volumes including tax records, license books, school ledgers, deed indexes, and more. Of particular interest is the grantor/grantee index to Lincoln County Deeds, 1871-1873. These records, for whatever reason, are not included in the master deed index found at the Lincoln County Courthouse.
- For a brief history of the "Million Dollar Courthouse," see the Lincoln County Courthouse entry found in the Online Nevada Encyclopedia.
Lincoln County Historical Society
P.O. Box 515
Pioche, NV 89043
Nevada State Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 20666
Reno, NV 89515-0666
Clark County Nevada Genealogy Society
PO Box 1929
Las Vegas, NV 89125-1929
Nevada Historical Society
1650 North Virginia Street
Reno, NV 89503
Tri-State Genealogical Society
ARIZONA, CALIFORNIA, NEVADA
PO Box 21902
Bullhead City, AZ 86439
- The Lincoln County NV GenWeb Project, a member of The NVGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project
- Official Website of Lincoln County, Nevada
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Lincoln County, Nevada Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/nev/lincoln/ accessed 3/27/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_Nevada 3/27/2017.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, Oregon page 442, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, Nevada. Page 442. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 428.
- Sam P. Davis, editor, The History of Nevada, vol. 1 (Reno, Nevada: Elms Publishing Co., 1913), 212-13.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County, Nevada," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County%2C_Nevada accessed 16 March 2017.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Williams 108-110
- U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
- William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. [http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/69672637/editions At various libraries (WorldCat)]; [https://www.familysearch.org/search/catalog/545087 FHL Book 973 X2th].
- Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at http://www.nmgs.org/Graphics/nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
- N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /p. 292
- U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Howell Code, Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy., ch. 2/ pp. 24-25
- Arizona Territorial Laws 1865, 2d assy. pp. 19-20
- U.S. Stat., vol. 14, ch. 73/p. 43; Sacks, 25; Van Zandt, p. 158, 165
- Arizona Territorial Laws 1871, 6th assy. p. 87
- Utah Terr. Laws 1872, 20th session, ch. 19, sec. 2, p. 28
- Greer, 162
- William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 211.
- ’'Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 437. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 422. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
- William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 212.
- "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- "Jefferson Hunt" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jefferson_Hunt (accessed 6 September 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Union Pacific Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Union_Pacific_Railroad (accessed 14 September 2011).