Lincoln County, Nebraska Genealogy
Guide to Lincoln County, Nebraska ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migration
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Tax Records
- 2.27 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
Lincoln County Courthouse
301 N. Jeffers Street
North Platte, NE 69101
Lincoln County Website
County Clerk has marriage records.
Clerk District Court has divorce records.
County Court has probate and court records.
Register of Deeds has land records.
Lincoln County, Nebraska Record Dates
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
1923 A fire burned the Lincoln County Courthouse. 
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
The following are locations in Lincoln County, Nebraska:
Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- Antelope Cemetery
- Ash Grove Cemetery(German Lutheran: south and west of Wellfleet)
- Birdwood Creek (gravesite: north and west of Hershey)
- Birdwood Presbyterian Church Cemetery (north and west of Hershey)
- Brady Cemetery (west and north of Brady)
- Buchner family Cemetery (S.S. Buchner: north and east of Wallace)
- Chamberline family cemetery (James Chamberline: north and east of Dickens on Chamberline Ranch)
- Conroy's Grave Cemetery
- County Cemetery (south and west of Sutherland: abandoned)
- Dickens Cemetery
- Fairview Cemetery
- Floral Lawns Memorial Cemetery (south and east of North Platte)
- Fort McPherson National Cemetery
- Frederick Fischer Lone Grave
- Frontier Cemetery south and west of Sutherland)
- Garfield Cemetery
- Gaslin Cemetery (south and east of Brady)
- Good Hope Cemetery (northwest from North Platte)
- Hansen Family Cemetery ( Hans C Hansen: north of Curtis)
- Kilmer Valley Cemetery (south and west of Arnold)
- Lamont Cemetery (Riverside District: south and west of Hershey)
- Lindberg Cemetery (west and north of Gothenburg)
- Listen Family Cemetery (west and south of Dickens)
- Lutheran Cemetery
- Marantha Bible Camp
- McBaugh Family Cemetery (Maxwell Precinct)
- McCullough Cemetery
- McNeel Cemetery
- Melton Family Cemetery (west and south of Dickens)
- Miriam Cemetery (south and east of North Platte)
- Morning View Cemetery (south of Wallace)
- John A. Murphy Cemetery (Catholic: west and north of Farnam)
- Myrtle Cemetery (northeast of North Platte)
- Nation Cemetery
- North Platte City Cemetery
- Nowell Burial Site
- O'Fallon Cemetery See: Riverside Cemetery Hershey
- Old Sutherland Cemetery
- Peckham Rural Cemetery(south and west of Gothenurg)
- Plainview Cemetery (south and west of Maxwell)
- Platte Valley Cemetery (east of Hershey)
- Pleasant Valley Cemetery (south of Wallace)
- Riverside Cemetery (west and north of Hershey)
- River View Cemetery See: Sutherland Riverview Cemetery
- St Joseph Cemetery
- St. Patrick's Catholic Cemetery (south and west of North Platte)
- Sutherland City Cemetery (2) (northeast corner of town)
- Sutherland Riverview Cemetery (1) (south of Sutherland) Also known as: River View Cemetery, Sutherland Cemetery
- Sutherland City Cemetery (2) (northeast corner of town)
- Svea-Dal Cemetery (northeast of Brady)
- Sykes Family Cemetery (north and east of Wallace)
- Trinity Cemetery (Lutheran: in Huebner: south and east of Hershey)
- Wellfleet Cemetery
- Wyuka and Fairview Cemetery
- Zion Lutheran Church Cemetery (German Lutheran: north and east of Wellfleet)
Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.
For tips on accessing Lincoln County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.
State Census Records
- 1854 - 1870 - Nebraska, Compiled Census Index, 1854-1870 at Ancestry.com - index ($)
- 1860 - 1885 - Nebraska State Census Collection 1860-1885 at Ancestry.com - index and images ($)
- 1885 - Nebraska State Census 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1885 - Nebraska State Census 1885 at Ancestry.com - index and images ($)
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Lincoln District: Created in 1935 from the East Nebraska District, was a unit of the Western States Mission. Record of members 1935-1941
- North Platte: Record of members 1929-1941
There is a District Court and a County Court in Lincoln County. District courts primarily hear felony criminal cases, equity cases, and civil cases involving more than $51,000. County courts handle misdemeanor cases; traffic and municipal ordinance violations; preliminary hearings in felony cases; civil cases involving $51,000 and less; small claims cases; some divorce cases; probate, guardianship, conservatorship, and adoption proceedings; and juvenile matters.
- Lincoln County District Court
PO Box 1616
North Platte, Nebraska 69103
- Lincoln County Court
PO Box 519
North Platte, NE 69103
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
Surname list of early settlers of North Platte area.
Land and Property Records
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
- 1796 - 1907 - U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website
- 1861 - 1936 - U.S. Homestead Records 1861-1936 at Ancestry.com - ($), index and images
For more information see Nebraska Land and Property
Local histories are available for Lincoln County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers
- Nebraska Gazetteer - database for all known places found in 1890 and 1911 Nebraska gazetteers
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of Nebraska - shows boundary changes for Nebraska Counties
Early migration routes to and from Lincoln County for European and African American settlers included:
- 1775 - 1783 - United States Rosters of Revolutionary War Soldiers and Sailors, 1775-1783 at FamilySearch - images only
- For more nationwide Revolutionary War databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
- 1861 - 1865 - Nebraska Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1891 - Nebraska Resident Military Roster on June 1, 1891 at Ancestry.com - ($), Roster of Soldiers, Sailors, and Marines of the War of 1812, the Mexico War, and the War of the Rebellion, residing in Nebraska June 1, 1891
- 1893 - Roster of Nebraska Veterans - list of veterans in 1893
- For more nationwide Civil War databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
World War I
- 1917 - 1918 - World War I Drafts 1917-1918 - index only
- For more nationwide World War I databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
Naturalization and Citizenship
For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers. Nebraska Newspapers Online
- Nebraska Newspapers - contains images of newspapers throughout Nebraska
- GenealogyBank - ($), contains images of Nebraska newspapers
- Newspaper Archive - ($), contains images of Nebraska newspapers
- Chronicling America - contains images of some Nebraska newspapers; searching tips
- Elephind - Free; search engine that retrieves newspaper images from other free newspaper websites
Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs
- Nebraska State Historical Society - catalog of known Nebraska newspapers; lists repositories that have the newspapers
- U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper
- 1870 - 1990 — Nebraska Prisoner Records 1870-1990 — index only
In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Lincoln - Probate records.
Online Probate Records
Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- 1855 - 1995 — Nebraska Marriages, 1855-1995 at FamilySearch — index only
- 1856 - 1898 — Nebraska Marriages 1856-1898 at Ancestry.com ($), index only
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- Gere Branch Library
2400 South 56th Street (68506)
(S. 56th St. & Normal Blvd.) Lincoln
- Maxine White Public Library
900 2nd Street
Librarian: Katie Smith
- North Platte Public Library
120 West 4th Street
North Platte NE 69101
Director: Cecelia Lawrence
- Gere Branch Library
- Lincoln County Historical Society
2403 NORTH BUFFALO
NORTH PLATTE NE 69101
- Lincoln-lancaster County Genealogy Society
P.O. Box 30055
- Lincoln County Historical Society
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nebraska.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- http://genealogytrails.com/neb/lincoln/ accessed 09/29/2016
- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_Nebraska accessed 09/29/2016
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Lincoln County Courthouse fire, Section 8, Page 2-3.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_Nebraska, accessed 1 August 2016.
- Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map II" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap2.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
- "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
- "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).