To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Lincoln County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lincoln County, Minnesota)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Lincoln County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Lincoln County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Lincoln County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 4, 1873
County Seat Ivanhoe
Courthouse
Address Lincoln County Courthouse
319 N Rebecca
Ivanhoe, MN 56142
Phone: 507.694.1360

Lincoln County Website


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Abraham Lincoln. The County is located in the southwest area of the state. [1]

Lincoln County, Minnesota Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1879 1879 1880 1880 1873 1877 1836
Statewide registration started for births in 1900 and deaths in 1908. General compliance by 1915.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Clerk District Court has birth, and marriage records from 1879,
death and court records from 1880 and divorce records from 1891.
Probate Judge has probate records from 1877.
Register of Deeds has land records from 1873. [3]

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

  • 1873--Lincoln County was created 4 November 1873 from Lyon County.  County seat: Ivanhoe [4]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places [edit | edit source]

For a list of cities and towns go to hometownlocator.com or wikipedia.com.

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
EPodunk WorldCat Billion Graves
Billion Graves
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

State Census

Church[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


Court[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Lincoln – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Lincoln County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

  • Radzilowski, John.Out on the Wind: Poles and Danes in Lincoln County, Minnesota, 1880-1905. Marshall, MN: Crossings Press, 1992. Print.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Yellow Medicine CountyLyon CountyMurray CountyPipestone CountyMoody CountyBrookings CountyDeuel CountyMN LINCOLN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

World War II[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lincoln County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Taxation[edit | edit source]

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Lincoln County Historical Society
406 Brooks St
Hendricks MN 56136

Lake Benton Area Historical Society
PO Box 267
108 South Center Street
Lake Benton MN
Telephone: 507-368-4480

Southwest Minnesota Historical Center
Social Science 141
Southwest Minnesota State University
1501 State Street
Marshall, MN 56258
Telephone: 507-537-7373


Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County, Minnesota" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_Minnesota accessed 13 Nov 2018
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, Minnesota. Page 362-370 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 362-365.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, Minnesota page 365, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.