Lincoln County, Kentucky Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kentucky
Lincoln County

Guide to Lincoln County, Kentucky ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Stanford
Organized: May 1, 1780
Parent County(s): Kentucky County (VA)
Neighboring Counties
Boyle  • Casey  • Garrard  • Pulaski  • Rockcastle
See County Maps
Courthouse
Lincoln County, Kentucky Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Lincoln County svg.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

The County was named for Benjamin Lincoln. The County has Stanford as its seat and the County was created 2 December, 1780. The County is located in the central area of the state.[1]

County Courthouse

Lincoln County Courthouse
102 E Main Street
Stanford, KY 40484
Phone: 606-365-4570[2]
Lincoln County Website

Lincoln County, Kentucky Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1852 1792 1852 1792 1780 1792 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Lincoln, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Lincoln county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 6,548
1800 8,621 31.7%
1810 8,676 0.6%
1820 9,979 15.0%
1830 11,002 10.3%
1840 10,187 −7.4%
1850 10,093 −0.9%
1860 10,647 5.5%
1870 10,947 2.8%
1880 15,080 37.8%
1890 15,962 5.8%
1900 17,059 6.9%
1910 17,897 4.9%
1920 16,481 −7.9%
1930 17,687 7.3%
1940 19,859 12.3%
1950 18,668 −6.0%
1960 16,503 −11.6%
1970 16,663 1.0%
1980 19,053 14.3%
1990 20,045 5.2%
2000 23,361 16.5%
2010 24,742 5.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Lincoln County, Kentucky Genealogy census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

More information about African American resources in Kentucky can be found on the Kentucky African Americans and the United States African Americans Wiki pages.

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • [Bright] Mills, Harry W. and Ben F. Dixon.Descendants of Henry Bright, Senior, (Born 1760), of Lincoln County, Kentucky. Washington, D.C.: H.W. Mills, 1941.
  • [Culbertson] Dixon, Ben F. and Alice L. Dwelle Dixon. The Family of David Culbertson of Lincoln County, Kentucky: An Historical and Genealogical Study. 1982?
  • [Dawson] Mills, Harry W.Dawson DesendantsDescendants of Elijah Dawson, Sr., and Sarah (Logan) Dawson, of Lincoln County, Kentucky. Typescript, 1941. Microfiche:
  • [Downing] Finley, Carmen J. "Identifying the Revolutionary Soldier: James Downing of Lincoln County, Virginia (Kentucky)," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 77 (1989):169-185.
  • [Downing] Williams, Frank L.The Downing Family from Montgomery and Bedford Counties, Virginia, to Lincoln County, Missouri, By Way of Lincoln County, Kentucky. MSS., Urbanna Free Library Archives, Illinois. Microfilmed 1978:
  • [Dudderar] Newborg, Ruth Foxx Dudderar. The Dudderars from Germany to Kentucky: Being the Ancestry of John Fox Dudderar of Lincoln County, Kentucky. Marlton, N.J.: R.F.D. Newborg, 1983.
  • [Finley] Finley, Carmen J. "John and Mary Finley of Montgomery (Wythe) County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 34, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1990):243-255; Vol. 35, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1991):18-33; Vol. 35, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1991):122-135; Vol. 35, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1991):173-185; Vol. 35, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1991):251-262. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 34 (1990)-v. 35 (1991).
  • [Finley] Finley, Carmen J. "John Finley of Montgomery/Wythe County, Virginia: Additional Children Identified," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 39, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1995):3-22; Vol. 39, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1995):94-103; Vol. 39, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1995):202-212; Vol. 39, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1995):282-294. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 39 (1995).
  • [Flournoy] Harper, Lillie DuPuy VanCulin. Colonial Men and Times: Containing the Journal of Col. Daniel Trabue, Some Account of His Ancestry, Life and Travels in Virginia and the Present State of Kentucky During the Revolutionary Period; the Huguenots, Genealogy, with Brief Sketches of the Allied Families. Philadelphia, Pa.: Innes & Sons, 1916. Digital version at Internet Archive; FHL Film 1421709 Item 2.
  • [Hall] Hall, Ida-Rose Langford. "The progenitors and descendants of Fielding Langford: allied families; Bethurem, Kincaid, Wilson, Warren". Provo, Utah, 1970. Digital version at Familysearch Books.
  • [Helms] Helms in Lincoln County, Kentucky. No publication information.
  • [Hickman] Fay, Mary Smith. "The Three James Hickmans: Identifying Revolutionary War Veterans," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 41, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1997):52-54. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • [Higginbotham] Sweeny, William Montgomery. "Higginbotham Family of Virginia," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 26, No. 3 (Jan. 1918):205-213; Vol. 26, No. 4 (Apr. 1918):265-274; Vol. 27, No. 1 (Jul. 1918):45-56; Vol. 27, No. 2 (Oct. 1918):123-129; Vol. 27, No. 4 (Apr. 1919):294-298. Digital versions at JSTOR ($).
  • [Lucas] Brenneman, Richard. The Descendants of John Lucas of Casey Co., Ky. and William Lucas of Lincoln Co., Ky. San Jose, Calif.: Brenneman, 1979.
  • [Lucas] Brenneman, Richard E. Lucas Family of Casey & Lincoln Cos., Kentucky and Descendants. Boston, Mass.: R.E. Brenneman, 2001.
  • [McRoberts] Mills, Harry W. McRoberts Family: Some Notes on McRoberts in Pennsylvania, Virginia, and Kentucky: McRoberts Family in Lincoln Coount, Ky.: A Family History Miniature. Washington, D.C.: Mills' Lettergram, 1943.
  • [Perrin] Harrison, Thomas Perrin. "Early Perrin Families of Virginia," Virginia Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 20, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1982):61-68; Vol. 20, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1982):113-119. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • [Popham] Burgess, Jane F. "John Popham (by 1757-1815/7) of Culpeper County, Virginia, and His Children," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 45, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 2001):299-304; Vol. 46, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 2002):57-64; Vol. 46, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2002):119-125. Digital version at American Ancestors ($); FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 45 (2001).
  • [Reynolds] Reynolds, Lyman Foster. Reynolds: Southern Lincoln Co., Ky from 1789. n.p.: L.F. Reynolds, 1999, 2008.
  • [Rogers] Irwin, Lyndon N. The Rogers Family of Paint Lick and Crab Orchard Ancestry and Descendants Joseph and Ellen Steward Rogers of Garrard, Rockcastle, and Lincoln Counties in Kentucky. Bois D'Arc, Mo.: L. Irwin, 1994.
  • [Sweeney] Sweeney, J. Harvey. Moses Sweeney, 1734-1813 Descendants from Amherst County, Virginia and Lincoln County, Kentucky. Crossville, Tenn.: Sweeney Trust, 2005.
  • [Taylor] Dennstedt, Albert Marjorie. "Richard and Ann Taylor's Descendants in Maryland and Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 40, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1996):29-38; Vol. 40, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1996):134-145; Vol. 40, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1996):199-211; Vol. 40, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1996):282-293. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • [Trabue] Harper, Lillie DuPuy VanCulin. Colonial Men and Times: Containing the Journal of Col. Daniel Trabue, Some Account of His Ancestry, Life and Travels in Virginia and the Present State of Kentucky During the Revolutionary Period; the Huguenots, Genealogy, with Brief Sketches of the Allied Families. Philadelphia, Pa.: Innes & Sons, 1916. Digital version at Internet Archive; FHL Film 1421709 Item 2.
  • [Warner] Reynolds, Lyman Foster.[1]Peter Warner Born Maryland - Fredrick County: Revolutionary War Soldier (with George Washington in Capture of Trenton) to Lincoln County Kentucky 1780's, Children Settled in Kentucky; Lincoln, Garrard, Boyle, Mercer & Washington Counties; Indiana Putnam County. Louisville, Ky.: L.F. Reynolds, 2007.
  • [Worrell] Worrel, Stephen William. The Descendants of William Worrell of Virginia & Kentucky from 1783 On: Being an Account of William Senior's Removal from Virginia with His Wife Barbara to the Wildes of Kentucke, and His Migration from the Dicks River in Lincoln County, North through Lebanon Village to His Final Home in Boone County, and an Account of His Descendants in the Male Line, Prefaced by Mention of Other Kentucky Pioneer Worrells. Falls Church, Va.: S.W. Worrel, 1994.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Lincoln County land records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:

  1. Deed Book A: 1796-1799
  2. Deed Book B: 1796-1803

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lincoln County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Boyle CountyGarrard CountyRockcastle CountyPulaski CountyCasey CountyKY LINCOLN.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Lincoln County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 10th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Company M
- 9th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Company C
- 1st Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Company K

World War I

Korean War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lincoln County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Lincoln County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Lincoln County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977 for Caldwell, Henry, Hickman, Russell and Trimble counties. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

  • 1787 - Fothergill, Augusta B. and John Mark Naugle. Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1978. Online at FamilySearch - free; FHL. [1787 personal property tax list of Lincoln County.]
  • 1787 - Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Online at FamilySearch - free; FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Lincoln County is included in Vol. 1.]
  • 1790 - Heinemann, Charles B. "First Census" of Kentucky 1790. Washington, D.C.: n.p., 1940. 1981 reprint: FHL US/CAN 976.9 X2ph 1981; digital version at Kentucky Kinfolks. ["2 volumes of 1790 were used." (p. 2)]
  • 1800 - 1800 Tax List of Lincoln County, Kentucky Genealogy is included in Clift's Second Census of Kentucky 1800,[6] digitized by Ancestry ($).
  • Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records, Ancestry ($)

The Lincoln County, 1787-1805 Tax Lists are also available for purchase as digital images in PDF format on CD fromGenealogical Resources. When the PDF files are viewed in a program such as Acrobat Pro you can bookmark pages/images with year changes, ancestors names, etc. You can also drag an image/page out of Acrobat Pro and throw it into Photoshop to enhance viewing or you can just save that extracted page/image to be used as an attachment to your ancestor in whatever Record Manager (ie: Legacy, RootsMagic, etc) program you use.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Lincoln County Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Lincoln County Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County, Kentucky" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_Kentucky."
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, Kentucky page 272, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, Kentucky. Page 268-276 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 251-254.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County, Kentucky," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_Kentucky, accessed 27 August 2018.
  6. G. Glenn Clift, Second Census of Kentucky 1800: A Privately Compiled and Published Enumeration of Tax Payers Appearing in the 79 Manuscript Volumes Extant of Tax Lists of the 42 Counties of Kentucky in Existence in 1800 (1954; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005).
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0b/Igikentuckygl.pdf.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Lincoln_County,_Kentucky_Genealogy&oldid=3454954"