Lincoln County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Lincoln County

Guide to Lincoln County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Lincolnton
Organized: February 20, 1796
Parent County(s): Wilkes[1]
Neighboring Counties
Columbia  • Elbert  • McCormick (SC)  • McDuffie  • Wilkes
See County Maps
Courthouse
Lincoln County Court House Lincolnton, Georgia.jpg
Location Map
Georgia Lincoln County Map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for General Benjamin Lincoln. The County is located in the east central area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse

Lincoln County Courthouse
210 Humphrey Street
PO Box 340
Lincolnton, GA 30817
Phone: 706-359-4444
Lincoln County Website

Probate Court has court has birth records from 1920, marriage records from 1810, death records from 1930 and probate records from 1796.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1796 and land records from 1790.[3]

Lincoln County, Georgia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1920 1796 1930 1796 1796 1800

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[4]

Boundary Changes

  • 1796 Lincoln County was created 20 February 1796 from Wilkes County.
  • County seat: Lincolnton[5]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Lincoln County, Georgia:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Lincoln, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Lincoln County cemeteries.

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

  • 1866-1884 Lincoln County Colored Marriage Books AA and BB Index 1866-1884. Batch M713221 at FamilySearch
  • 1884-1895 Lincoln County Colored Marriage Book C Index 1884-1895. Batch M713222 at FamilySearch

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lincoln County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Galincoln.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to Lincoln County for European settlers included:

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Lincoln County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lincoln County:

- 15th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- 22nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 37th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 37th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E, 9th Battalion


  • Hudson, Frank Parker. 1977. An 1800 census for Lincoln County, Georgia. Atlanta: R.J. Taylor, Jr., Foundation. (page 55) 975.8165 X2p digital version
  • Perryman, Clinton J. 1960. History of Lincoln County, Georgia. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 202623
  • Perryman, Clinton J. 1985. History of Lincoln County, Georgia: 1933. Tignall, Georgia: Boyd Pub. Co. (Vo. 2 page 55) 975.8165 H2pc
  • White, George. 2001. Lincoln County, Georgia history & biographies. Signal Mountain, Tennessee: Mountain Press. (page 6-7) 975.8165 D3L
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Lincoln County). 1960. Confederate soldiers pensions, 1890-1949. [S.l.]: Mann Film Laboratories. film 202719 item 1,2,3


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Voting Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Lincoln County Historical Society, Inc.
    2060 White Rock Road
    Lincolnton, GA 30817
    Facebook

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_Georgia accessed 1 Nov 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 38-39. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.