Lincoln County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Lincoln County
 

Guide to Lincoln County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Star City
Organized: March 28, 1871
Parent County(s): Arkansas, Bradley, Desha, Drew, and Jefferson[1]
Neighboring Counties
Arkansas  • Cleveland  • Desha  • Drew  • Jefferson
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasLincolnCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-lincoln.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Lincoln County Courthouse
300 S Drew Street
Star City, AR 71667
Phone: 870.628.5114
Lincoln County Website

County Clerk has marriage, probate and land records from 1871 and tax records.[2]

Lincoln County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1871 1914* 1871 1871 1871
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Lincoln County, Arkansas:

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Lincoln County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [5]

  • 1827 - The McLain, Lee, and Douglass families, established homes in a community called Auburn.
  • 1836 - Thomas Griffis bought land at what is now Griffith Springs and built a cotton gin.
  • 1846 - John S. Hall and his family arrived from South Carolina and established Hall’s Station.
  • 1847 May - Elias King Hays arrived from Tennessee and established Cornerville in southwestern Lincoln County.
  • 1871 March 28 - Lincoln County was established.
  • 1930-2010 - The population of Lincoln County hit a high mark of 20,200 in 1930, a low of 12,900 in 1970 and is now (2010) at 14,100.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Lincoln, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Click on a neighboring county to go to the wiki page.
Lincoln CountyChicot CountyDesha CountyCleveland CountyArkansas CountyJefferson CountyAshley CountyDrew CountyUnion CountyBradley CountyCalhoun CountyDallas CountyOuachita CountyHot Spring CountyGrant CountyLonoke CountyPulaski CountySaline CountyPhillips CountyMonroe CountyPrairie CountyCoahoma CountyBolivar CountyWashington CountySunflower CountySharkey CountyHumphreys CountyLeflore CountyTunica CountyQuitman CountyTallahatchie CountyARLincoln1.JPG


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lincoln County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

  • 1876 - 1927 - Lincoln County Birth Index 1876-1927. Batch C748473 at FamilySearch - free.
  • 1882 - - Lincoln County Birth Index 1882-1885. Batch C586031 at FamilySearch - free.

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Guy Lancaster, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=784&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 14, 2016), “Lincoln County.”
  6. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.