To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Lillingstone Lovell, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Lillingstone Lovell, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lillingstone Lovell, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Buckingham
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Buckingham
Registration District Buckingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1678
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bicester
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Lillingstone Lovell formed a detached portion of Oxfordshire in 1086, probably as the result of a dependency upon the important royal manor of Kirtlington. The parish was finally transferred to Buckinghamshire in 1844 whittlewoodproject.com. Lillingstone Lovell is an Ancient Parish in the county of Oxfordshire. [1]

Livingstone Lovell was a detached portion of Oxfordshire under the control of the royal manor of Kirtlington, valued for its woodland and hunting being part of the ancient Whittlewood Forest. It was transferred to Buckinghamshire under the Counties (Detached Parts) Act 1844. [2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Lillingstone Lovell parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC 1 = Oxfordshire, England, Church of England Baptism, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Oxfordshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
FMP = Oxfordshire Marriage Bonds 1634-1849 (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - ($) Results delivered by email.
Lillingstone Lovell Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1915
1754-1930
1813-1965
FMP

1634-1849


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog BTs


OFHS 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Oxfordshire History Centre.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]