Liechtenstein Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Liechtenstein)
Jump to: navigation, search
Liechtenstein Wiki Topics
Flag of Liechtenstein.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Liechtenstein Background
Local Research Resources
Europe
Liechtenstein
Guide to Liechtenstein ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Country Information

Liechtenstein is a microstate in Europe bordered by Switzerland and Austria. The official language is German.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Liechtenstein Research

Links to articles on getting started with Liechtenstein research.

Liechtenstein Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Liechtenstein research.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Finding Your Ancestors' Town in Liechtenstein

  • Genealogical records are organized by geographical locality. Civil registration (government birth, marriage, and death records) and church records (christenings/baptisms, marriages, and burials) were kept at the local level. To search these records, you must know the town where your ancestors lived.
  • If you do not know your ancestors' town, follow the advice in the Wiki article, Liechtenstein Finding Town of Origin, to search a variety of records that might provide that information.


Liechtenstein Clickable Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Liechtenstein. Click on the name of the commune title to be linked article on research in that commune.

RuggellRuggellSchellenbergGamprinGamprinEschenEschenMaurenMaurenSchaanSchaanPlankenPlankenVaduzVaduzTriesenbergTriesenbergTriesenTriesenBalzersBalzersLiechtenstein - Gemeinden mit Exklaven.png
About this image


Communes

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Liechtenstein. There are 11 communes. Bendern is not a commune, but records for Gamprin are listed under Bendern. [2]

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Liechtenstein," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liechtenstein, accessed 27 April 2015.
  2. The Family History Department of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, “Family History Record Profile: Liechtenstein,” Word document, private files of the FamilySearch Content Strategy Team, 1989-1999.