To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Licking County, Ohio Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Licking County, Ohio)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Licking County, Ohio ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Licking County, Ohio
Map
Boundary map of Licking County, Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Licking County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Licking County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
Newark, Ohio 43055
Licking County Website


Licking County, Ohio Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1875 1809 1875 1872 1800 1875 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1908. General compliance year is unknown.
  • Parent Counties: Formed from Fairfield County 30 January 1808.[2]
  • County Seat: Newark

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named after the salt licks in the area. It's county seat is Newark and was founded March 1, 1808. It is located in the Mid-central area of the state.[3]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county: [4]

Cities
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Lima Township (defunct - merged in 1996 with Pataskala)

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Delaware County  • Franklin County  • Fairfield County  • Perry County  • Muskingum County  • Coshocton County  • Knox County

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1888) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1875 A courthouse fire on 2 April destroyed or damaged records. Records in the Recorder’s, Sheriff’s, Auditor's and Treasurer’s offices were saved. [5] The marriage records between 1829-1839 [6]were possibly completely lost in the fire. Some estate records also were burned in the fire. There are gaps in records for this county.[7]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

Business Records and Commerce[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGW Tombstones

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

OHGenWeb Tombstone Photos

Ohio Gravestones

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Green-Beard Cemetery

Census[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

Finding More Church Records[edit source]

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Licking County, Ohio Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records[edit | edit source]


Harold Henderson composed a blog post describing his recent research at the courthouse in Licking County, Ohio. Many records were burned in a fire in 1875. Here is the link to his blog post titled Not Everything Burned -- Partitions and Mortgages in Licking County, Ohio.

midwesternmicrohistory

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Licking County, Ohio Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]
  • A Bicentennial History of Licking County, Ohio: 1808-2008, (Licking County Bicentennial Commission, 2008). FHL book 977.154 H2f

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed. =====Finding More Land Records===== Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Licking County, Ohio Genealogy Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:


Maps[edit | edit source]

Delaware CountyKnox CountyCoshocton CountyFranklin CountyFairfield CountyPerry CountyMuskingum CountyOH LICKING.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
- Revolutionary War Veterans of Licking County, Ohio
Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Licking County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Licking County.

- 1st Regiment, Ohio Cavalry, Companies D and F
-113th_Regiment,_Ohio_Infantry, Companies D and F
  • Miller, Charles D. Report of the great re-union of the veteran soldiers and sailors of Ohio held at Newark, July 22, 1878, under the auspices of the Society of the soldiers and sailors of Licking County, Ohio (Ann Arbor, Michigan : University Microfilms International - Books on Demand, 1972), FHL book 977.1 M25m
World War I[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Licking County, Ohio Genealogy newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.
Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Licking County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Licking County, Ohio Genealogy Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

  • Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (1981).  Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981).FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).


Online Probate Records

Finding More Probate Records[edit source]

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Licking County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Licking County Courthouse
20 S 2nd Street
Newark, OH 43058
Phone: 740.349.6062 

Probate Judge has birth, marriage and probate records;
County Health Department has death records; Clerk Court
has divorce records from 1876 and court records from 1872;
County recorder has land records[8]

County Archives[edit | edit source]

Licking County Records and Archives Department
Mailing Address:
20 S. 2nd Street
Newark, OH 43055


Physical Address:
39 S. Buena Vista Street
Newark, OH 43055
Phone: 740.670.5121
Online Records Catalog

The office houses a selection of Licking County Government records dating from 1808 to the present and provides direction to customers researching county records.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory. Put your town name in the top search box.

Libraries[edit | edit source]
  • Licking County Library
    101 West Main Street
    Newark, OH 43055-5054
    Phone: 740-349-5510
    Library hours are Tuesday - Saturday 12:00 to 4:00 and Wednesday until 7:30 p.m.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
  • Licking County Genealogical Society
    Licking County Library
    101 West Main Street
    Newark, OH 43055-5054
    Phone: 740-349-5510
    Website
    The library has research on over 3000 Families of Licking County from 1808 to current. LCGS had received or has found information on over 6,000 military personal from the Revolution War to current-day military personnel that lived or passed through Licking County while in the military. We have a page on each one of them. (Donations of military personnel information welcomed.)
    LCGS has original Births, Marriage and Will books for Licking County, Ohio that can be copied for a fee. Many books of information on each of the townships, cemeteries, churches, schools, children homes, court records, pictures of people, places.
Online Genealogy Research Groups[edit | edit source]

School Records[edit | edit source]

Jacksontown Alumni Book 1890-1959. Digitized book which includes the history of the school and numerous class photos.

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Licking County, Ohio Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Licking County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Licking County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court with divorce records located with the Licking County, Ohio Genealogy Clerk of Courts.

See also How to order Ohio Vital Records or order vital records electronically online.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Online Birth Indexes and Records Licking County Genealogical Society Library had the birth from 1875 to in the 1960's

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

  • 1789-2013 - Ohio, County Marriages, 1789-2013 at FamilySearch — index and images
  • 1790-1950 - FamilySearch Historical Records For Licking County, the 1808-1951 database is variably extracted; often the Volume and Page number are not given. The "image numbers" given in the extracts refer to the image numbers in the microfilm, not to the image numbers as uploaded to Historical Records. The links to images from search results in the Historical Records for this County are wrong for at least Volumes 7 and 11, but the user can often find the wanted record by going to the next image in sequence. In Volume 7 the images are about 8 MBeach, and in Volume 11 about 5 MB each, so searchers with slow internet connections should be prepared for considerable load time.
  • 1800-1958 - Ohio, Marriages, 1800-1958 at FamilySearch — free; Index.
  • 1800-1942 - Ohio, Marriages, 1800-1942 at FamilySearch — index
  • various years - community contributed marriage records Courtesy OhioGenWeb Archives.


Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death[edit | edit source]

Online Death Indexes and Records

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Licking County, Ohio Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Licking County, Ohio. Page 540-547 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 531-533.
  2. referer=brief_results Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  3. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Licking County, Ohio Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ohio/licking/ accessed 2/22/2017.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Licking County, Ohio," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Licking_County,_Ohio, accessed 23 December 2018.
  5. GenDisasters.com Newark, OH Licking County Courthouse Fire, Apr 1875 http://www3.gendisasters.com/ohio/17866/newark-oh-licking-county-courthouse-fire-apr-1875
  6. res=980DE7D9123EE63BBC4850DFB5668382669FDE ;oref=slogin "A County Court House in Flames"New York Times March 30, 1879 Article.
  7. Licking County Research Article
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Licking County, Ohio. Page 543 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.