Liberty County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Liberty County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Liberty County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||17 March, 1836|
|Address||Liberty County Courthouse|
1923 Sam Houston Street
Liberty, TX 77575
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places / Localities
- 4 Resources
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for the popular American ideal of liberty. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Liberty County Courthouse
1923 Sam Houston Street
Liberty, TX 77575
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage records from 1875, probate, court and land
records from 1874 District Clerk has divorce records
P.O. Box 369
1923 Sam Houston, Rm. 115
Liberty County, Texas Record Dates[edit | edit source]
General compliance by the 1930s.
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
1836--Liberty County was created on 17 March 1836 from the Old Mexican Municipality.
- County seat: Liberty 
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
See an interactive map of Liberty County border changes.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
1872--Liberty County Courthouse, built in 1857, was destroyed on December 28, 1872. County records were destroyed. 
1874--Courthouse and county records were destroyed by fire in December 1874.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|FindAGrave||Family History Library||FindAGrave|
|BillionGraves (name)||Cemeteries of TX|
|GenWeb Archives||Texas Cemeteries|
|Names in Stone|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
Calvary Church 300419N 0945426W Dayton
Concord Church 302501N 0944609W Rye
Crossroads Church 301715N 0950820W Fostoria
Eastgate Church 300230N 0950045W Huffman
Faith Tabernacle 301517N 0945812W Tarkington Prairie
First Baptist Church - Romayor Romayor
Grace Church 301758N 0950503W Cleveland
Green Chapel 302605N 0944900W Romayor
Greenville Church 300740N 0945214W Capers Ridge
Hardin Church 300929N 0944520W Capers Ridge
Hi-Way Tabernacle 301844N 0945921W Tarkington Prairie
Little Flock 302354N 0945615W Rayburn
Mount Calvary 301449N 0944135W Hardin
Mount Calvary 301541N 0944047W Arizona Creek
Mount Olive Church 300309N 0945352W Dayton
New Salem Church 301910N 0950339W Cleveland
North Height 300422N 0944723W Liberty
North Hill Church 301127N 0943743W Hardin
Oak Shade Church 302157N 0945956W Tarkington Prairie
Olive Bethel 301054N 0944552W Capers Ridge
Pin Oak Church 301839N 0950728W Cleveland
Pleasant Hill 300004N 0944518W Liberty
Prairie Missionary 301738N 0945846W Tarkington Prairie
Rainbow Baptist Church Rye
Rayburn Church 302324N 0945631W Rayburn
Rebekah Church 302325N 0944557W Romayor
Rural Shade Church 301734N 0945838W Tarkington Prairie
Sacred Heart 300422N 0944013W Daisetta
Saint Annes Church 300316N 0950046W East Gate
Saint Johns Church 300459N 0944607W Liberty
Saint Pauls Church 300350N 0944703W Liberty
Saint Thomas 295804N 0944432W Shiloh
Shiloh Church 295656N 0944143W Shiloh
South Dayton 295948N 0945151W Moss Bluff
Turkey Creek 300105N 0944634W Liberty
Winfree Church 295321N 0944847W Moss Bluff
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Liberty County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
Military[edit | edit source]
Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Liberty County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800–1990 Texas Probate Records at FamilySearch — images
- 1800–2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1840-1981 Texas, Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 - FamilySearch
- 1903-1935 Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- 1903-1997 Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index) - FamilySearch
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1802-2010 Texas, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837-1965 Texas, County Marriage Records, 1837-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1837-1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837-1977 Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837-1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966-2010 Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 - FamilySearch record collection
Death[edit | edit source]
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1890-1976 Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images] Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- 1903-1973 Texas Deaths and Burials 1903-1973 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903-1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1964-1998 Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- 1977-1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1968-2005 Texas Divorce Records 1968-2005 (index) - Hidden Ancestors
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968-2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Liberty County Genealogical Society
PO Box 723
Liberty, Texas 77575
Atascosito Historical Society
PO Box 989
Liberty, TX 77575
Liberty County Historical Commission
PO Box 23
Liberty, TX 7757
Following ancestral footsteps in and around Atascocita, Crosby, Huffman, Kingwood, New Caney, Porter, Splendora, and Humble, Texas
Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Liberty County TXGenWeb
- TXGenWeb Project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
- FamilySearch Catalog The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Liberty, Texas" in "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liberty_County,_Texas. accessed 10/08/2019
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Liberty County, Texas. Page 668 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Liberty County, Texas . Page 658-677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 655-665.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- GenDisasters.com - Liberty, TX Courthouse Fire, Dec 1872 http://www3.gendisasters.com/texas/17586/liberty-tx-courthouse-fire-dec-1872
- Wikipedia contributors, "Liberty County, Texas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liberty_County,_Texas, Last accessed 09 August 2019.