Liberty County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Liberty County

Guide to Liberty County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Hinesville
Organized: February 5, 1777
Parent County(s): St. Andrew, St. James and St. John Parishes[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bryan  • Evans  • Long  • McIntosh  • Tattnall
See County Maps
Courthouse
Liberty County Court House Hinesville, Georgia.jpg
Location Map
Georgia Liberty County Map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for the American ideal of liberty. The County is located in the southeast area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse

Liberty County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
PO Box 829
Hinesville, GA 31313-3240
Phone: 912-876-2164
Liberty County Website

Probate Judge has marriage and probate records from late 1700s, birth records from 1919 and death records from 1927.
Clerk of Court has divorce, court and land records from 1756 (some early records were lost).[3]

Liberty County, Georgia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1919 1700 1927 1784 1786 1790

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[4]

Boundary Changes

  • 1777 Liberty County was created 5 February 1777 from St. Andrew, St. James and St. John Parishes.
  • County seat: Hinesville[5]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Liberty County, Georgia:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Liberty, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Liberty County cemeteries.

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Congregational

  • Midway Congregational Church Records, Liberty County, Georgia. Digital version at Ancestry ($)
  • Stacy, James. History of the Midway Congregational Church, Liberty County, Georgia. 1951. Digital version at Ancestry ($)
  • 1746-1828 Congregational Church, Midway, Baptism Index 1746-1828. Batch C505921 at FamilySearch
  • 1748-1788 Congregational Church, Midway, Baptism Index 1748-1788. Batch C505923 at FamilySearch
  • 1754-1898 Congregational Church, Midway, Baptism Index 1754-1898. Batch C505924 at FamilySearch
  • 1844-1863 Congregational Church, Midway, Baptism Index 1844-1863. Batch C505921 at FamilySearch
  • 1864-1867 Congregational Church, Midway, Baptism Index 1864-1867. Batch C505922 at FamilySearch
  • 1753-1858 Congregational Church, Midway, Marriage Index 1753-1858. Batch M505921 at FamilySearch
  • 1753-1785 Congregational Church, Midway, Marriage Index 1753-1785. Batch M505923 at FamilySearch
  • 1754-1898 Congregational Church, Midway, Marriage Index 1754-1898. Batch M505924 at FamilySearch
  • 1859-1867 Congregational Church, Midway, Marriage Index 1859-1867. Batch M505922 at FamilySearch

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

  • They Had Names - Documentation of names of African Americans mentioned in the 1790-1865 wills and estate inventories of white slaveholders in Liberty County, Georgia.

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

A digital copy of "English Crown Grants in St. Andrew Parish in Georgia 1755-1775," by Pat Bryant is available here.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Liberty County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Galiberty.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Liberty County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Liberty County:

- 14th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (State Guards) (Confederate),
- 20th Battalion, Georgia Cavalry (Confederate)
- 25th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies E and F


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Voting Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

  • Midway Museum
    491 N. Coastal Hwy
    Midway, GA 31320
    Website
    Has a library and can do look-ups.

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Liberty County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liberty_County,_Georgia accessed 1 Nov 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 38-39. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.