Leytonstone, Essex Genealogy
Guide to Leytonstone, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St John Leytonstone Essex
|Poor Law Union||West Ham|
|Registration District||West Ham|
|Parish registers: 1833|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1834|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Leytonstone, is a village and a chapelry in Leyton parish, Essex. The village runs parallel to Leyton village, and northward of it; lies on the Roman road to Colchester, adjacent to the London and Ongar railway. There is an Independent chapel. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Leytonstone, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|Leytonstone, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
A Second Cousin Twice Removed. A family tree of John Collett Hickey married Mary Ann Hobbins, from 1806-1967, and descendants of Ward, Robinson, Yetton, Henry, Parmetner, Hunter, Buckledee, Kidd, Hackney, listed in the following areas, Shoreditch, Bethnal Green, Walthamstow, Leytonstone, Hackney, Wanstead and Felixstowe. Article in Roots and Branches vol.10.no.3, page 28 FHL Ref. 942.64/F5 D25r
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Leytonstone on GENUKI
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)