Lewis County, West Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
West Virginia
Lewis County

Guide to Lewis County, West Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Weston
Organized: December 18, 1816
Parent County(s): Harrison[1]
Neighboring Counties
Braxton  • Doddridge  • Gilmer  • Harrison  • Upshur  • Webster
See County Maps
Courthouse
Lewis County, West Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Wv-lewis.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County has Weston as its seat and the County was created December 18, 1816. The County is located in the central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Lewis County Courthouse
110 Center Avenue
Weston, WV 26452
Phone: 304-269-8215
Lewis County Website

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1853, marriage, probate and land records from 1816.
Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce records.[3]

Lewis County, West Virginia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1816 1817 1816 1820

Record Loss

1886 Fire in 1886 destroyed courthouse, but records were saved.

Boundary Changes

  • 1816--Lewis County was created 18 December 1816 from Harrison County.
  • County seat: Weston[4]

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[5]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communites


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Lewis County, West Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Lewis census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1820 4,247
1830 6,241 47.0%
1840 8,151 30.6%
1850 10,031 23.1%
1860 7,999 −20.3%
1870 10,175 27.2%
1880 13,269 30.4%
1890 15,895 19.8%
1900 16,980 6.8%
1910 18,821 10.8%
1920 20,455 8.7%
1930 21,794 6.5%
1940 22,271 2.2%
1950 21,074 −5.4%
1960 19,711 −6.5%
1970 17,847 −9.5%
1980 18,813 5.4%
1990 17,223 −8.5%
2000 16,919 −1.8%
2010 16,372 −3.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • Cunningham - Harter, Mary. "James Cunningham of Western Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 29, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1985):9-16; Vol. 29, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1985):109-116. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 29 (1985).
  • Hacker - “A Noted Mason Dead: The Demise of William Hacker at a Ripe Old Age,” Newspaper obituary (Shelbyville, Ohio), 29 July 1891, reprinted in Hacker’s Creek Journal, Vol. 6, No. 1 (Fall 1987):31-32 - free digital version at Hacker's Creek website.
  • Swisher - Swisher, Robert Edward. The Swisher Family of Harrison and Lewis Counties, West Virginia. Richmond, Va.: Whittet & Shepperson, 1974. FHL Book 929.273 Sw65r.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See West Virginia Land and Property for additional information about early West Virginia land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Lewis County, West Virginia Deeds

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lewis County, West Virginia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section West Virginia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Wvlewis.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Western District, Lewis County on page 135.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Lewis served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lewis County:

- 3rd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company I.
- 18th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company I.[6]
- 26th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B.[7]
- 31st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company I (Lewis County Rangers).[8]
- 36th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company D.[9]

Records and histories are available, including:

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Lewis County, West Virginia" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lewis_County,_West_Virginia."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lewis County, West Virginia. Page 744 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Lewis County, West Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lewis_County,_West_Virginia, accessed 05 July 2018.
  6. Roger U. Delauter, 18th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 18.
  7. Richard L. Armstrong, 26th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 110.
  8. John M. Ashcraft, 31st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 48.
  9. J.L. Scott, 36th and 37th Battalions Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 24.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Lewis_County,_West_Virginia_Genealogy&oldid=3293870"