Lewis County, Idaho Genealogy
Guide to Lewis County, Idaho ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Lewis County, Idaho|
Location in the state of Idaho
Location of Idaho in the U.S.
|Founded||March 3, 1911|
|Address||Lewis County Courthouse|
510 Oak Street
Nezperce, ID 83543-0039
Phone: (208) 937-2661
Fax: (208) 937-9234
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Quick Facts
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Cemeteries
- 7 Census
- 8 Church
- 9 County Commissioners' Records
- 10 Court Records
- 11 Directories
- 12 History
- 13 Land and Property
- 14 Maps
- 15 Military
- 16 Miscellaneous Series
- 17 Newspapers
- 18 Obituaries
- 19 Probate
- 20 Taxation
- 21 Vital Records
- 22 Societies and Libraries
- 23 Websites
- 24 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for Meriwether Lewis. The County Seat is Nezperce and was founded March 3, 1911. It is located in the north area of the state.
Lewis County, Idaho Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Quick Facts[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
The above list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.
Resources[edit | edit source]
The types of records that follow are used for genealogy and family history. Most tell what you may learn and how to locate the records. Links to Internet sites usually go directly to Lewis County, Idaho Genealogy entries with names, images, or information.
|Don't overlook Lewis County, Idaho Genealogy items in the FamilySearch Library Catalog. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see Archives and Libraries.|
Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Lewis County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers. They are also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in Nezperce.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Idaho Cemeteries for more information.|
There are many cemeteries in Lewis County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Lewis County, Idaho Cemetery Records.
For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.
Census[edit | edit source]
The 1890 federal census for Idaho was destroyed. However, the Idaho State Historical Society Public Archives and Research Library is creating a list of 1890 Idaho residents by indexing a variety of records, 1885-1894. This reconstructed list will substitute for the destroyed 1890 federal census.
For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records.
Church[edit | edit source]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)[edit | edit source]
In 1930, Lewis County was part of Northwestern States Mission. There were no stake organized in the area at the time.
- The following are local congregations (wards) which existed in Lewis County, Idaho prior to 1950.
- For original or later records, check with the Church History Library in Salt Lake City.
- Many of the records to about 1948 are available at the FamilySearch Library in Salt Lake City and at its FamilySearch Centers.
- 1911--Lewis County was created 3 March 1911 from Nez Perce County. County seat: Nezperce.
County Commissioners' Records[edit | edit source]
The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.
Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the county clerk for information about years covered and availability.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Some of the early court records of Lewis County, Idaho have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho. The records filmed include civil suits, divorce papers, judgment dockets, etc. Copies of these microfilmed court records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or at any of the Library's Family History Centers. Additional court records and more recent records are housed at the Lewis County courthouse in Nez perce, and can be accessed by making a visit there.
Some of the records of the courts of Lewis County that have been microfilmed include:
- Court records, 1911-1932
- Power of attorney, 1883-1964; index, 1890-1986
Judgment Books[edit | edit source]
- Judgment record, 1895-1946; index, 1895-1986
Directories[edit | edit source]
The Idaho State Archives has a collection of city, county, state and regional directories.
History[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Land and Property records are generally recorded in the county courthouse of the county in which the transaction took place. For original records of Lewis County, Idaho, one may visit the courthouse in Nez Perce, Idaho.
The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed many county records of Lewis County and these can be accessed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.
Some Land and propertyrecords of Lewis County have been microfilmed by the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and can be read in the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of its Family History Centers.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- A digital Lewis County Idaho map is available online.
- Map of Lewis County, Idaho is available online.
Military[edit | edit source]
World War I draft registration cards, 1917-1918, for Lewis County have been microfilmed. Copies of these records are available at the Family History Library (their microfilm number 1452218) and are also available online at Ancestry.com, for a subscription fee. The original cards are maintained in the Southeast Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in East Point, Georgia and have been microfilmed by the National Archives as their Microcopy M1509.
Miscellaneous Series[edit | edit source]
Often overlooked by the genealogist, this group of volumes may contain affidavits for citizenship, final disposition of estates, divorce decrees, and many other types of valuable documents. The content varies from county to county, year to year and from clerk to clerk. When the estate case files, civil or criminal files are not available or have been destroyed, you may find key documents recorded here. Most counties will have an index to this series and it is a must search if the information you are seeking is not found elsewhere.
Both the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho, and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah have copies of the miscellaneous record of Lewis County. The originals are held in the Lewis County courthouse in Nez Perce, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting there. Copies in the Idaho State Archives are available for viewing in Boise. Those held by the Family History Library can be viewed either at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of its Family History Centers.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Current[edit | edit source]
Historical[edit | edit source]
The Idaho State Archives has a collection of Idaho newspapers
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
The Ilo-Vollmer Historical Society has 26 volumes of obituary records for Lewis County. This Society can be reached at PO Box 61, Craigmont, ID 83523
Probate[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Records
- 1857 – 1989 Idaho Wills and Probate Records 1857-1989 at Ancestry.com $
Probate records are generally housed at the county courthouse in the county where the transaction took place, so existing Probate records of Lewis County should be available in Nez Perce by visiting there.
Some older Probate records of Lewis County have been microfilmed by the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah and can be viewed at the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of its Family History Centers.
The Idaho State Archives has also microfilmed records from Lewis County which can be accessed at the Archives in Boise, Idaho.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Any existing tax assessment rolls for Lewis County should be in the courthouse in Nezperce and would need to be accessed by visiting there.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1911 - Idaho, Birth Index, 1861-1911 at FamilySearch — index
- 1883-1929 - Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch.
Birth records, 1911 to present, for individuals born in Lewis County are included in and recorded at the state level. These records are restricted for a period of one hundred years from the time of the individual's birth but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under the subject Idaho for more details.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1987 - Idaho, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1864-1976 - Idaho Church Marriages, 1864-1976 at FamilySearch — index
- 1864-1950 - Idaho County Marriages, 1864-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1878-1898; 1903-1942 - Idaho Marriages, 1878-1898; 1903-1942 at FamilySearch — index
- 1947-1963 - Idaho Marriage Index, 1947-1961 at FamilySearch — index
Over 650 marriages, 1911-1930, are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.
There are 108 Lewis County marriages in the online Idaho Marriages.
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Deaths[edit | edit source]
- 1883-1929 - Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch.
- 1938-1961 - Idaho Death Certificates, 1938-1961 at FamilySearch — index
Deaths occurring in Lewis County after 1911 are included in the state-wide registration program. These records are restricted for a period of fifty years from the time of the individual's death but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under Idaho for details.
Copies of death certificates from 1911-1954 are on microfilm and can be used at the Idaho State Archives, the Family History Library, BYU-Idaho University Library in Rexburg and several other locations.
Idaho Deaths and Burials (FamilySearch Historical Records) gives details about this collection that covers 1907-1965.
Deaths from other sources.
The Ilo-Vollmer Historical Society has 26 volumes of obituary records for Lewis County. This Society can be reached at PO Box 61, Craigmont, ID 83523.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.
Ilo-Vollmer Historical Society
Craigmont, ID 83523
Contact -- Shelley Kuther, President
Byron D. Bovey
HCR 1 Box 41
Craigmont, ID 83523
A researcher with the Historical Society
Craigmont City Library
112 W. Main St.
Craigmont, ID 83523
Nezperce City Library
502 Oak St.
Nezperce, ID 83543
Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Lewis County ID GenWeb Project, a member of The IDGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Lewis County, Idaho Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Lewis County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lewis_County,_Idaho
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lewis County, Idaho. Page 177-180 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 180-181.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lewis, Idaho page 179, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
- census.gov - Idaho population by county, 1900-90 accessed 2009-05-03
- quickfacts.census.gov - Canyon County accessed 2009-05-03