To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Lesotho Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Lesotho Wiki Topics
Flag of Lesotho.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Lesotho Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Lesotho ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information[edit | edit source]

Lesotho is an enclave country in Africa within South Africa. It was previously known as Basutoland. Great Britain formerly ruled the area. The official languages are Sesotho and English.[1]

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting Started with Lesotho Research

Links to articles on getting started with Lesotho research.

Lesotho Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Lesotho research.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Lesotho Map[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Lesotho.
Map of lesotho.png

Districts[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Lesotho. Districts:

  • Berea
  • Butha-Buthe
  • Leribe
  • Mafeteng
  • Maseru
  • Mohale's Hoek
  • Mokhotlong
  • Qacha's Nek
  • Quthing
  • Thaba-Tseka

FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Lesotho," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lesotho, accessed 22 April 2016.