To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Lenoir County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Lenoir County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Kinston
Organized: December 4, 1791
Parent County(s): Dobbs[1]
Neighboring Counties
Craven  • Duplin  • Greene  • Jones  • Pitt  • Wayne
See County Maps
Courthouse
Lenoir County Courthouse, North Carolina.JPG
Location Map
Nc-lenoir.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Lenoir County is located in the southeastern portion of North Carolina and was named for General William Lenoir, a prominent Revolutionary War hero, Speaker of the State Senate, and trustee of the University of North Carolina.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Lenoir County Courthouse
PO Box 3289
Kinston, NC 28502
Phone: 252-523-2390
Lenoir County Website

Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1880.
Register of Deeds has marriage and land records.[3]

Lenoir County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914 1791 1914 1880 1737 1880 1784
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1878, 1880 Most court records were destroyed in fires.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1791 Lenoir County was created 4 December 1791 from Dobbs County.
  • County seat: Kinston[5]

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Lenoir County, North Carolina:

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Lenoir County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist

  • Bear Creek. Established by 1785.[6]
  • Beaver Dam. Established by 1808.[7]
  • Wheat Swamp, near Kinston, N.C. Organized about 1760. Has belonged to the Disciples of Christ since 1843.[8]

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
The Howard's Chapel Branch was the first congregation of LDS members residing in and around Kinston, Lenoir County in the early 1900s.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Nclenoir.png

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Lenoir County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lenoir County:

- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 13th Battalion, North Carolina Infantry, Company C
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company G
- 3rd Regiment, North Carolina Artillery, Company A
- 41st Regiment Volunteers - 3rd Cavalry, Company E
- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (63rd Regiment Volunteers), Company B
- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company D
- 8th Battalion, North Carolina Cavalry (Partisan Rangers), 2nd Company

Civil War Battles
The following Civil War battles were fought in Lenoir County:

  • December 14, 1862 Kinston[9]
  • March 7-10, 1865 Wilmington, also known as Wilcox’s Bridge, Wise’s Fork, Second Kinston, Second Southwest Creek, or Kelly's Mill Pond[10]
  • Map showing Civil War battles in North Carolina.

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

  • Uncertified copies of vital records can be ordered for a small fee from the Register of Deeds.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Heritage Place
    Lenoir Community College
    231 Highway 58 South
    Kinston, NC 28502-0188
    Phone: 252-527–6223
    Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Heritage Genealogical Society
    PO Box 6204
    Kinston, NC 28501
  • Historical Preservation Group
    Kinston, NC
    Phone: 252-522-0540
    Email:diamondgp@suddenlink.net
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Lenoir County (NCGenWeb)
  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/lenoir
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lenoir County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:490. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  7. Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 (1808), Chapter 16. Digital version at archive.org.
  8. "Wheat Swamp Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  9. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August, 2012)
  10. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August, 2012)
  11. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.