Lennox and Addington County, Ontario Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Ontario Research Topics
Ontario Flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Ontario Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Ontario
Lennox and Addington County

Guide to Lennox and Addington County ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Map of Ontario Lennox and Addington.png

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

History

The two original counties of Lennox and Addington were joined together in 1860. Unlike most county mergers in the 19th century, Lennox and Addington, which had been split off from the former Midland District in 1849, became a full amalgamation of the two counties into a single government. Other mergers still retained separate records for each of the joined counties, and were therefore known as United Counties.

Civil Registration

Birth

Marriage

Death


Writing for a More Recent Birth, Marriage, or Death Record

  • ServiceOntario, Birth Records is the only government-authorized source for obtaining birth certificates. Go to the section entitled "Order a Birth Search". This is the most economical, searches the widest time period, and allows searches for people not immediately related. A letter of information is provided rather than a certificate.
  • ServiceOntario, Marriage Records offers a marriage search option and a historical certificate option.
  • ServiceOntario, Death Records offers a death search option and a historical certificate option. Also official death certificates are available to a wider range of relatives than birth and marriage certificates.

FamilySearch Library Microfilmed Records

Some of the church/civil records have been microfilmed by FamilySearch.These microfilms may be available for viewing at Family History Centers around the world. To find a microfilm:

a. Click on records for Canada, Ontario, Lennox and Addington County. You will see a list of available records for the county.
b. You will also see above the list the link Places within Canada, Ontario, Lennox and Addington County. This will take you to a list of towns in the counties, which are links to records for the specific town.
c. Click on any topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
d. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record. FHL icons.png. The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm.

Census Records

Census Districts and Sub-DIstricts Links

Ontario and Nova Scotia Census, 1800-1842

Ancestry $

Canada Census, 1851

Addington (District 1)
  • 1 - Amherst Island
  • 2 - Camden East (partial)
  • 3 - Earnestown
  • 4 - Sheffeld

Lennox (District 21)

  • 200 - Adolphustown
  • 201 - Fredericksburg
  • 202 - Richmond

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

Census of Canada, 1861

Lennox and Addington

Adolphustown, Amherst Island, Anglesea, Camden, Denbigh

Ernestown, Fredericksburgh, Kaladar, Napanee, Richmond, &

Sheffeld

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

Census of Canada, 1871

Addington (District 64)
  • A - Camden
  • B - Newburgh
  • C - Sheffeld
  • D - Kaladar & Anglesea
  • E - Denbigh, Abinger, Ashby, & Effingham

Lennox (District 63)

  • A - Adulphustown
  • B - Fredericksburgh South
  • C - Fredericksburgh North
  • D - Richmond
  • E - Napanee
  • F - Amherst Island
  • G - Ernestown
  • H - Bath

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

Census of Canada, 1881

Addington (District 118)
  • C - Camden East
  • D - Sheffeld
  • E - Kaladar and Anglesea
  • F - Denbigh, Abinger, Ashby, & Effingham
  • G - Newburgh (village)
  • H - Hinchinbrooke

Lennox (District 117)

  • A - Amherst Island
  • B - Adolphustown
  • C - Bath (village)
  • D - Ernestown
  • E - Fredericksburg North
  • F - Fredericksburg South
  • G - Napanee (town)
  • H - Richmond

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

Census of Canada, 1891

Addington (District 45)
  • A - Abringer, Effingham, Ashby, & Denbigh
  • D - Camden
  • F - Hinchinbrooke
  • G - Kaladar & Anglesea
  • J - Newburgh (village)
  • O - Sheffeld

Lennox (District 87)

  • A - Adolphustown
  • B - Amherst Iland
  • C - Bath (village)
  • D - Ernestown
  • E - Fredericksburg North
  • F - Fredericksburgh South
  • G - Napanee (town)
  • H - Richmond

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

Census of Canada, 1901

Addington (District 43)
  • A - Denbigh, Abinger, & Ashby
  • D - Camden
  • F - Hinchinbrooke
  • G - Kaladar, Anglesea, & Effingham
  • J - Newburgh (village)
  • O - Sheffeld

Lennox (District 84)

  • A - Adolphustown
  • B - Amherst Island
  • C - Bath (village)
  • D - Ernestown
  • E - Fredericksburg North
  • F - Fredericksburg South
  • G - Napanee (town)
  • H - RIchmond

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com $

Census of Canada, 1911

Lennox and Addington (DIstrict 92)
  • 1 & 2 - Abinger, Ashby, & Denbigh townships
    • 1 - Denbigh (village)
  • 3 & 4 - Anglesea, Effingham, & Kaladar townships
    • 3 - Flinton (village)
  • 5-10 Camden township
    • 5 - Colebrooke (village) & Yarker (village)
    • 6 - Strathcona (village)
    • 7 - Camden East (village)
    • 8 & 9 - Enterprise (village)
    • 10 - Croydon & Centerville (villages)
  • 11-14 Sheffeld township
    • 11 - Erinsville (village)
    • 12 - Tamworth (village)
  • 15 - Newburgh
  • 16 - Adolphustown
  • 17 - Amherst Island township, Emerald & Stella (villages)
  • 18-23 - Ernestown township
    • 19 - Odessa (village)
    • 21 - WIlton (village)
    • 22 - McIntyres Corners, Maple Lane, Links, Mills, Fellows, Storms Corners, Morven
  • 24 & 25 - North Fredericksburg township
    • 25 - South Napanee (village)
  • 26 & 27 - South Fredericksburg township
    • 27 - Sandhurst (town lots)
  • 28 (missing)
  • 29-31 - Richmond township
    • 30 - Selby (village)
  • 32-34 - Napanee
  • 35 - Bath

Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry $

Census of Canada, 1921

Ancestry $

Note that parts of modern Frontenac province was included in the historical Aberdeen province for most of these censuses, which is why they are only partially listed on this page.

Church Records

Church records can include baptisms, marriages, burials, membership lists, financial business, and other records for a particular congregation. They may be available online or on microfilm, but frequently they are still with the local church or in centralized archives by religion. The Canadian census records asked for the religion of those listed, so you will be able to narrow down which archives to consult. For help with writing a letter requesting copies of records, see Letter Writing Guide for Genealogy.

Online Church Records

These records are incomplete.

($).

Cemetery Records

See, Ontario Cemeteries for information on cemetery record collections not yet digitized, but available in published sources and on microfilm.

Online Cemetery Records

Populated Places Table


1 2 3 4 5

POPULATED PLACE

FORMER NAME, if applicable TYPE

FHL  CATALOG

WIKIPEDIA

 Abinger   Township   Link   Link
 Adolphustown        Link     Link
 Adolphustown   Township     Link   Link
 Amherst Island   Township    Link   Link
 Anglesea   Township   Link   Link
 Ashby   Township  Link   Link
 Bath       Link   Link
 Camden East        Link   Link
 Camden East    Township   Link   Link
 Camden    Township    Link  Link
 Centreville       Link   Link
 Conway       Link   Link
 Denbigh          Link   Link
 Denbigh     Township   Link   Link
 Effingham   Township    Link   Link 
 Enterprise       Link   Link
 Erinsville       Link    Link
 Ernestown   Township   Link   Link
 Flinton       Link   Link
 Fredericksburg        Link   Link
 Fredericksburg    Township   Link   Link
 Hawley       Link   Link
 Hayburn       Link   Link
 Kaladar    Township   Link   Link
 Morven       Link   Link
 Napanee        Link   Link
 Newburgh       Link   Link
 North Fredericksburg    Township   Link   Link
 Odessa       Link   Link
 Richmond     Township    Link   Link
 Roblin       Link   Link
 Sandhurst        Link   Link
 Selby        Link   Link
 Sheffield    Township    Link  Link
 South Fredericksburg    Township    Link  Link
 Tamworth       Link   Link
 West Plain        Link   Link
 Wilton        Link   Link
 Yarker         Link   Link
 ANY NEW LOCATIONS IN FHL CATALOG???       Link  

Websites

The Forebears website will give you an extensive list of websites that could have information for people who lived in this county. Some sites cover just the county, some cover all of Ontario, and some cover all of Canada. Some sites are databases of names and facts about people; other sites cover background information such as maps, history, geography, or genealogy strategies and methods for the region.