Lemhi County, Idaho Genealogy
Guide to Lemhi County, Idaho ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Lemhi County, Idaho|
Location in the state of Idaho
Location of Idaho in the U.S.
|Founded||January 9, 1869|
|Address||Lemhi County Courthouse|
206 Courthouse Drive
Salmon, ID 83467-3943
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Quick Facts
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Cemeteries
- 7 Census
- 8 Church
- 9 County Commissioners' Records
- 10 Court Records
- 11 Directories
- 12 History
- 13 Land and Property
- 14 Maps
- 15 Military
- 16 Miscellaneous Series
- 17 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 18 Newspapers
- 19 Obituaries
- 20 Probate
- 21 Taxation
- 22 Vital Records
- 23 Societies and Libraries
- 24 Websites
- 25 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for Fort Lemhi, which was named for King Lemhi in the Book of Mormon. Lewis and Clark were the first white men in this area. The County Seat is Salmon and was founded January 9, 1869. It is located in the central area of the state.
Lemhi County, Idaho Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Lemhi County Courthouse
206 Courthouse Drive
Salmon, ID 83467-3943
Count Clerk Recorder has birth and death records 1907-1911, marriage, land and military discharge records from 1888 and naturalization from 1869. 
Quick Facts[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
8 January 1881 -- Custer County created from parts of Alturas and Lemhi Counties
4 March 1893 -- Fremont County created from parts of Bingham and Lemhi Counties
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Home Town Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
The above list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.
Resources[edit | edit source]
The types of records that follow are used for genealogy and family history. Most tell what you may learn and how to locate the records. Links to Internet sites usually go directly to Lemhi County, Idaho Genealogy entries with names, images, or information.
|Don't overlook Lemhi County, Idaho Genealogy items in the FamilySearch Library Catalog. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see Archives and Libraries.|
Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Lemhi County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers. They are also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in Salmon.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Idaho Cemeteries for more information.|
There are many cemeteries in Lemhi County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Lemhi County, Idaho Cemetery Records.
For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.
Census[edit | edit source]
The 1890 federal census for Idaho was destroyed. However, the Idaho State Historical Society Public Archives and Research Library is creating a list of 1890 Idaho residents by indexing a variety of records, 1885-1894. This reconstructed list will substitute for the destroyed 1890 federal census.
For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records.
Church[edit | edit source]
A list of current churches in Lemhi County is available on the USGenWeb site for the county.
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)[edit | edit source]
Fort Lemhi was established on a tributary of the Salmon River June 15, 1855. This mission, called the Salmon River Mission, proved to be a very dangerous one. Becasue of Indian depredations the settlement of Fort Lemhi was abandoned in 1858.
- In 1930, Lemhi County was part of Northwestern States Mission. There were no stake organized in the area at the time.
- Silver Creek
County Commissioners' Records[edit | edit source]
The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.
Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the county clerk for information about years covered and availability.
Online County Records
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Some of the early court records of Lemhi County, Idaho have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho. The records filmed include civil suits, divorce papers, judgment dockets, etc. Copies of these microfilmed court records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or at any of the Library's Family History Centers. Additional court records and more recent records are housed at the Lemhi County courthouse in Salmon, and can be accessed by making a visit there.
Some of the records of the courts of Lemhi County that have been microfilmed include:
- Coroner's inquest, 1905-1916
- Court records, 1878-1934
- District court Idaho territory records, 1868-1877
- Power of attorney, 1889-1941; index, 1878-1984
- Judgments, 1878-1929; index, 1883-1929
Directories[edit | edit source]
The Idaho State Archives has a collection of city, county, state and regional.
History[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Land and Property records are generally recorded in the county courthouse of the county in which the transaction took place. For original records of Lemhi County, Idaho, one may visit the courthouse in Salmon, Idaho.
The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed many county records of Lemhi County and these can be accessed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.
The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has microfilmed originals of the following records found in the Lemhi County Courthouse in Salmon, Idaho which can be accessed at the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of its Family History Centers:
- Deeds and water rights, 1867-1892
- Deeds, 1868-1915; index 1871-1930
- Estate records, 1884-1932
- Homestead claims, 1880-1914; index, 1880-1986
- Judgments, 1878-1929; index, 1883-1929
- Salmon townsite deeds, 1883-1915
Maps[edit | edit source]
- An 1895 map of Lemhi and surrounding counties is available online.
- A digital Lemhi County Idaho map is available online.
- Map of Lemhi County, Idaho is available online.
Military[edit | edit source]
World War I draft registration cards, 1917-1918, for Lemhi County have been microfilmed. Copies of these records are available at the Family History Library (their microfilm number 1452218) and are also available online at Ancestry.com, for a subscription fee. The original cards are maintained in the Southeast Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in East Point, Georgia and have been microfilmed by the National Archives as their Microcopy M1509.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Idaho, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Miscellaneous Series[edit | edit source]
Often overlooked by the genealogist, this group of volumes may contain affidavits for citizenship, final disposition of estates, divorce decrees, and many other types of valuable documents. The content varies from county to county, year to year and from clerk to clerk. When the estate case files, civil or criminal files are not available or have been destroyed, you may find key documents recorded here. Most counties will have an index to this series and it is a must search if the information you are seeking is not found elsewhere.
Both the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho, and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah have copies of the miscellaneous record of Lemhi County. The originals are held in the Lemhi County courthouse in Salmon, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting there. Copies in the Idaho State Archives are available for viewing in Boise. Those held by the Family History Library can be viewed either at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of its Family History Centers.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Current[edit | edit source]
Historical[edit | edit source]
The Idaho State Archives had a fine collection of newspapers from Idaho.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Probate[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Records
- 1857-1989 - Idaho Wills and Probate Records 1857-1989 at Ancestry.com $
As a general rule, probate records are recorded in the county in which the event took place, so existing Lemhi County records should be available in Salmon for viewing in the county courthouse there.
Some older Lemhi County probaterecords have been microfilmed by the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah and are available for viewing at the Library in Salt Lake or in any of its affiliate Family History Centers.
The Idaho State Archives has also microfilmed some earlier records of Lemhi County, and these films can be viewed at their headquarters in Boise, Idaho.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Any existing tax assessment rolls for Lemhi County should be in the courthouse in Salmon and would need to be accessed by visiting there.
A few taxation records of Lemhi County have been microfilmed by the Family History Library of Salt Lake City, Utah and are available for viewing in the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of its affiliate family history centers. The same Inheritance Tax Records 1907-1912 are on microfilm at the Idaho State Archives.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1911 - Idaho, Birth Index, 1861-1911 at FamilySearch — index
- 1883-1929 - Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images
The Birth Register for Lemhi County, 1907-1911 has been microfilmed and is available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Birth records, 1911 to present, for individuals born in Lemhi County are included in and recorded at the state level. These records are restricted for a period of one hundred years from the time of the individual's birth but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under the subject Idaho for more details.
A few (131) [Idaho Births and Christenings - FamilySearch Historical Records|birth/christening records] for Lemhi County are found in Idaho births and christenings.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1987 - Idaho, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1864-1976 - Idaho Church Marriages, 1864-1976 at FamilySearch — index
- 1864-1950 - Idaho County Marriages, 1864-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1878-1898; 1903-1942 - Idaho Marriages, 1878-1898; 1903-1942 at FamilySearch — index
- 1947-1963 - Idaho Marriage Index, 1947-1961 at FamilySearch — index
Nearly 1700 marriages, 1869-1938, are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.
In the online Idaho marriages are found 135 Lemhi County marriages.
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1883-1929 - Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch.
- 1938-1961 - Idaho Death Certificates, 1938-1961 at FamilySearch — index
The Death Registers for Lemhi County, 1907-1911, have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. After 1911, deaths occurring in Lemhi County are included in the state-wide registration program. These records are restricted for a period of fifty years from the time of the individual's death but can be obtained by following the guidelines as mandated by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under Idaho for details.
Copies of death certificates from 1911-1954 are on microfilm and can be used at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, BYU-Idaho University Library in Rexburg and several other locations.
A state-wide index to Idaho Deaths, 1911-1956 is available online. Efforts to expand this index to 1960 are underway. Another version is Idaho Death Index 1911-1956.
Found in the [Idaho Deaths and Burials - FamilySearch Historical Records|Idaho death and burials]] online are 129 deaths from Lemhi County.
Deaths from other sources[edit | edit source]
A significant source of death and related information for eastern Idaho families can be found at the following website Eastern Idaho Death Index.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.
- Lemhi County District Library
204 Main St
Salmon, ID 83467
Phone: (208) 756-2311
- Lemhi County Historical Society
210 Main Street
Salmon, Idaho 83467
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Lemhi County ID GenWeb Project, a member of The IDGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Lemhi County, Idaho Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References[edit | edit source]
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Lemhi County, Idaho Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ida/lemhi/
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lemhi County, Idaho. Page 177-180 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 180-181.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lemhi, Idaho page 179, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Lemhi County,Idaho," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lemhi_County,_Idaho#Communities, accessed 11 June 2019.
- Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
- census.gov - Idaho population by county, 1900-90 accessed 2009-05-03
- quickfacts.census.gov - Canyon County accessed 2009-05-03