Leikanger (Leganger) Parish, Sogn og Fjordane, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Norway
Sogn og Fjordane County
Leikanger (Leganger)


Guide to Leikanger, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Leikanger (Leganger) Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 add here
Amt 1689-1919 add here
Fylke 1919-Present add here
Region add here
Prestegjeld add here
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag add here
Fogderi add here
Sorenskriveri add here
Skipreide add here


Church Records

Leikanger clerical district includes the following parishes: Leikanger, Fresvik and Feios (Rinde). Included also Tjugum (Balestrand), Mundal (Fjæreland) and Vangsnes until 1849 when they became the parishes in Balestrand clerical district.

Church books, 1690-1916 are available at the Family History Library.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet.

Leikanger: 1690-1888

Leikanger / Fresvik: 1873-1908

Leikanger / Leikanger: 1873-1916

Leikanger / Rinde: 1887-1922

Census Records

  • Fogdernes og sorenskrivernes manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 civil census for Leikanger (Leganger) clerical district include the parishes of Fjærland, Fresvik, Feios, Leikanger, Vangsnes and Balestrand and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
  • Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 clerical census for Leikanger (Leganger) clerical district include the parishes of Leikanger, Fresvik, Feios, Vangsnes, Balestrand and Fjærland.  This census is avaialble on microfilm at the Family History Library, as well as online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Manntall 1701 : optatt av fogderi, sorenskrivere og sogne prester ifølge kongebrev av 26 Juli 1701.  The 1701 census for Leikanger is available on microfilm at the Family History Library as well as online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Folketelling 1 Feb 1801, Norge.  The 1801 census for Leikanger (Leganger) clerical district include the parishes of Leikanger, Fresvik, Feios, Balestrand, Vangsnes and Fjærland.  This census is available on microfilm at the Family History Library as well as online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • 1845 folketelling for Leikanger prestegjeld (Sogn og Fjordane).  The 1845 census for Leikanger (Leganger) clerical district include the parishes of Feios, Fjærland, Vangsnes, Leikanger, and Balestrand and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
  • Folketælling for kongeriget Norge den 31te December 1875.  The 1875 census for Leikanger clerical district include the parishes of Leikanger, Fresvik and Feios and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Leikanger Bygdebok by Roald Lyngvær (1979)

Farm Names

23 Bakken

20 Dalen

8 Eggum, 3 Engesæter

7 Fosse, 6 Fosshage, 13 Frekeland

22 Gjerde, 2 Grinde

19 Haalen, 15 Halland, 10 Hamre indre, 11 Hanehaug, 17 Henjum ,4 Holum, 5 Huke, 12 Husebø

21 Kvaalen14 Leikanger Præstegaard

24 Njøs, 16 Nybø

12 Rævhaugen, 18 Røisum

1 Suppeim

Leikanger Bygdebok:

Berdal, Bergheim, Bjørnetun, Borlaug, Breili, Bøtim

Dale, Dalen, Djupevik, Drege

Eggum, Engesæter

Feidje, Flete, Fosse, Fosshage, Frekaland

Gjerde, Grinde, Grindedal, Grundeland

Halland, Hamre, Hanehaug, Haukanes, Hatleli, Helland, Henjum, Holen, Holum, Holum (Fresvik), Hov, Huke, Husabø, Høgheim, Håum

Indre Borlaug, Indre Frønningen

Kolåsen, Kvålen

Lagnammsvik og Buene, Lagmannsås, Leikanger (prestegarden), Lunde

Njøs, Nyborg, Nybø

Osen, Otrehjell

Rinde, Røysum

Simlenes, Skau, Smidge, Snytten, Stjernegjerd, Straumsnes, Stølås, Suphammer, Svien, Sætre, Sætrelien

Tingestad, Tjønn, Tretteteig, Tveiten

Ulriksborg

Vigdal

Øyri

Åfet

Probate Records

1698-1882: Probates may be found in Ytre Sogn judicial district.

1766-1810: Clerical probates may be found in Sogn Deanery.

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names