Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire Genealogy
Guide to Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire|
|Poor Law Union||Leighton Buzzard|
|Registration District||Leighton Buzzard|
|Parish registers: 1562|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1604|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - Lincoln; Post 1845 - Ely|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Leighton Buzzard|
|Location of Archive|
|Bedfordshire Record Office|
LEIGHTON-BUZZARD (All Saints), is a market town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Manshead, county of Bedford and on the boundary with Buckinghamshire; there are chapelries in the hamlets of Billington, Eggington, Heath with Reach, andStandbridge. There are chapels for the Baptists, Society of Friends, and Wesleyans.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Leighton Buzzard All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|FMP = FindMyPast - ($)|
|ANC = Ancestry - ($)|
|GIBBS = StevenGibbs.me.uk - free|
|NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free|
|BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes (FindMyPast) - free|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free|
|Leighton Buzzard All Saints Online Parish Records|
|IGI|| 1562-1812, 1813-1866,
|FS Catalog PRs||
Leighton Buzzard St Andrew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Leighton Buzzard St Andrew Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Society of Friends
- Pecular Baptists
- Primitive Methodists
- Roman Catholic
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Leighton Buzzard on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 65-68. Date accessed: 5 Dec 2013.