Leigh-on-Sea, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Leigh-on-Sea


Guide to Leigh-on-Sea, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Leigh-on-Sea, Essex
St Clement, Leigh-on-Sea, Essex .jpg
St Clement, Leigh-on-Sea, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rochford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Rochford
Registration District Rochford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1684
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochford
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Leigh is also known as Leigh on Sea, it is a small seaport town and a parish in Rochford district, Essex. The town stands on a creek of the Thames, at the skirt of a bold steep hill, adjacent to the Southend railway, opposite Canvey Point, 3 miles W of Southend, and 4 miles SW by S of Rochford. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Leigh-on-Sea, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
Leigh-on-Sea, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1684-1886
1692-1899
1685-1876
PALL

1790-1812


Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office See also Leigh Methodist Wesleyan Church

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Rochford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Leigh-on-the-Sea on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Adapted: date accessed 20 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 28 January 2015.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm