Leicester St Nicholas, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Leicestershire
Leicestershire Parishes
Leicester St Nicholas
Guide to Leicester St Nicholas, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. "
Leicester St Nicholas, Leicestershire
St+Nicholas Leicester.JPG
St Nicholas, Leicester
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leicester Borough
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Leicester
Registration District Leicester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1566
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Christianity
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

Leicester St. Nicholas is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Leicestershire. [1]

St Nicholas is the oldest place of worship in the City of Leicester and is situated next to the Jewry Wall, the remnant of the city's Roman baths. To the east is the site of the Roman forum.

Today, the church lies just outside the city's inner ring road. Despite being some distance from the campus, it is the official church of the University of Leicester.

Parts of the church fabric certainly date from circa AD 880, and a recent architectural survey suggested possible Roman building work. The tower is Norman. By 1825 the church was in an extremely poor condition, and plans were made for its demolition. Instead, it was extensively renovated between 1875 and 1884, including the building of a new north aisle. Renovation continued into the twentieth century.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Leicester St Nicholas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Leicestershire Parish Registers, 1533-1991 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Leicestershire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Leicestershire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Leicestershire Marriage Licences, 1604-1891 (FindMyPast) - ($)
MyH = Leicestershire Parish Births, Marriages, Burials (MyHeritage) - ($)
TGEN = Hampshire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)
PC = Parish Chest - ($) Registers delivered by email.
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Leicester St Nicholas Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1533-1991
1533-1991
1533-1991
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-1916
1537-1931
1538-1991
FMP Banns

1637-1940


FMP Marr

1604-1891


MyH 1510-1900s
1510-1900s
1510-1900s
TGEN

1550s-1900s


PC 1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
JOIN

1538-1837


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Leicestershire Record Office.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. http://maps.familysearch.org/
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk