To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Leicester St Mary de Castro, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Leicester St Mary de Castro

Guide to Leicester St Mary de Castro, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. [[Image:|thumb|right]]

Leicester St Mary de Castro, Leicestershire
St+Mary+de+Castro Leicester.JPG
St Mary de Castro, Leicester
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Guthlaxton; Leicester Borough
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Leicester
Registration District Leicester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1600
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Christianity
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

St Mary de Castro (meaning St Mary of the Castle) is an ancient church and parish in Leicester. The old borough consisted of the parishes of All Saints, St. Leonard, St. Martin, and St. Nicholas, and part of the parishes of St.Margaret and St. Mary. [1]

The South Fields and Bromkinsthorpe were brought within the borough for Parliamentary purposes under the Boundaries Act of 1832, and for municipal purposes under the Municipal Corporations Reform Act of 1835. St. Mary's remained a civil parish within the borough until 1896,when the whole of Leicester was formed into a separate civil parish.

It dates its founding to 1107 when Henry I of England took the lands and castle from a rebellious owner and granted them instead to Robert de Beaumont, although some legends say that a Saxon church of St Mary had existed before the Norman Conquest before then  and Robert merely refurbished it. Whichever, he established it within the castle bailey as a college served by a Dean and 12 Canons (that is, a collegiate church) in honour of the Virgin Mary and All Souls and as a chantry chapel for the souls of him, his family and the first three Norman kings. He endowed this and 4 other churches with £6 of his income and land in or near the city. However, these endowments were all transferred soon after by his heir to his own new foundation of Leicester Abbey, although this was made up for by an annual grant from the Earl of 20 shillings for lamps and by restoring a Dean, six Clerks and a Chaplain to the church, which was by now a parish church too and so supported by tithes and offerings.
It was rebuilt in the 1180s, and has undergone alterations since, including the addition of a spire (1400).
The collegiate nature of the church lasted until the college was disbanded in 1548 by Henry VIII.

Leicester Holy Trinity, Leicestershire Leicester St AndrewLeicester St Paul, Leicestershire Leicester Holy Apostles, Leicestershire Leicester Church of the Martyrs, Leicestershire Leicester All Souls, Leicestershire and in 1914 Leicester St Anne, Leicestershire.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Leicester St Mary de Castro parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Leicestershire Parish Registers, 1533-1991 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Leicestershire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Leicestershire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Leicestershire Marriage Licences, 1604-1891 (FindMyPast) - ($)
MyH = Leicestershire Parish Births, Marriages, Burials (MyHeritage) - ($)
TGEN = Leicestershire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
PC = Parish Chest - ($) Registers delivered by email.
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Leicester St Mary de Castro Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1533-1991
1533-1991
1533-1991
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-1916
1537-1931
1538-1991
FMP Banns

1637-1940


FMP Marr

1604-1891


MyH 1510-1900s
1510-1900s
1510-1900s
TGEN

1550s-1900s


PC 1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
JOIN

1538-1837


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Leicestershire Record Office.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 55-62. Date accessed: 10 September 2012.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Leicestershire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk