Lehi Utah FamilySearch Center/classes

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Home Discovery
Activities
Classes Scanning Audio/Video Group
Events
Contact Us
Get Help
Español
Lehi Utah FamilySearch Center Classroom


Classes are taught live in the center and online, unless otherwise noted in the class description.
Scroll down to find a list of classes and when they are being offered.


Zoom

Zoom is an online communication tool, which allows us to provide classes for you wherever you are in the world. A zoom account is not required to use this service.

Once you have identified a class you wish to attend, and it is time for that class: Click here to join the class via zoom. You will automatically be taken to a receptionist who will help you join your class.

You may also join a zoom class by clicking on the "CLASS INFO - ATTEND CLASS" link to the right of the class you wish to attend. Then Click on the "Click here to join this class" link.

Class Descriptions and Handouts

To see a class description, access handouts, or join a zoom class, click on the text "CLASS INFO - ATTEND CLASS" located to the right of each class title.


Class Offerings

All classes are available online, and unless noted below in the class description, you may also attend the class in the center.


Class Schedules:



Click here to join a class via zoom


WARD/STAKE LEADERSHIP & CONSULTANT CLASSES

Ward and Stake T&FH Leadership Training - Mark VanOrden

This class will help stake and ward leaders understand their role in helping to make temple and family history a prominent focus in the life of children, youth, adults and families. Organizational principles on the stake and ward levels will be addressed.

Class Handouts
Stake & Ward Council Leaders (T&FH) Leadership Training

Upcoming Dates

  • This class is taught by request from a ward or stake.
  • Contact the recetionist at the Lehi FamilySearch center at (801)356-5820.
  • The receptionist will contact Mark VanOrden and he will work with you to get your class scheduled.


Temple & Family History Consultant Preparation - Ralph Stephens

The goal is for the Consultants to gain a VISION and understanding of the RESPONSIBILITIES of their calling. A portion of the classes will provide an introduction to INSPIRATIONAL ACTIVITIES.

Class Handouts
T & FH Vision and Responsibilities
Checklist for new Ward T&FH Consultants

Upcoming Dates


FAMILY SEARCH CLASSES

FamilySearch Basics - Ralph Stephens & Marijo Young

Part 1: FamilySearch Intro and Family Tree

This class is an overview of FamilySearch, concentrating on the front page information, account settings, the help menu and navigating in the Tree.

Class Handouts
FamilySearch Overview

Upcoming *Dates


Part 2: FamilySearch Person Page

This class covers how to use the Person page in FamilySearch tree. Please have a family tree established in FamilySearch before attending this class.

Class Handouts
The Person Page

Upcoming Dates


Part 3: FamilySearch Records

This class covers how to search for sources in FamilySearch and other sites. Please have a family tree established in FamilySearch before attending this class.

Class Handouts
Searching For Records (parts 3 & 4)

Upcoming Dates


Part 4: FamilySearch Records (continued)

This class is the second part of How to search for records in FamilySearch and other sites. Please have a family tree established in FamilySearch before attending this class.

Class Handouts
Searching For Records (parts 3 & 4)

Upcoming Dates

 Click here to join this class ]

Turning Hearts with Memories in FamilySearch - Ralph Stephens

Pictures and stories are a wonderful way of preserving our family history. This class will assist you in learning how to use photos, documents, stories and audio in the FamilySearch program.

Class Handouts
Memories

Upcoming Dates

Discovering Descendancy Research - Neal Beecher

Those with pioneer heritage may find it challenging to discover new names to take to the temple. This class will teach you effective ways to find the names of your distant cousins to take to the temple. You should have experience with using FamilySearch before taking this Class.

Class Handouts
Discovering Descendancy Research
Descendancy Class Exercise - Print Before Class

Upcoming Dates (Zoom only. Not taught in center.)


Individuals and Relationships: Add, Edit & Delete - McKay Hendrix

This class will cover a variety of scenarios as information is added, edited, or deleted from within a person's Details page in FamilySearch.

Class Handouts
Individuals and Relationships

Upcoming Dates


Using the FamilySearch Wiki – Julie Wilcox

The Family Search WIKI is an amazing but underused resource. It is a free tool for finding information about subjects, records that may have been generated by your ancestors, and places in which records may be found. It is like an online encyclopedia for family history research. Learn how to use this great tool to improve your own research.

Class Handouts
The FamilySearch Wiki

Upcoming Dates (Zoom only. Not taught in center.)


Your Family Is on Your Phone! – Using the Family Tree App – Pat Huff

Chances are, you are carrying around hundreds of family members on your phone in your pocket. Got 5 minutes? Attach a census record. Got 10 minutes? Find a grandparent. Come learn how fun and easy it is to use the Family Tree app on your iPhone or Android device to help your family. Please download the Family Tree app found on the App Store or Playstore before class and come signed in.
Class Handouts
Your Family is in Your Pocket

Upcoming Dates On Hold


Turning our hearts using the FamilySearch Memories app – Ralph Stephens

We will learn, with the FamilySearch Memories Phone app, how to gather and share our memories.
Class Handouts
Coming Soon

Upcoming Dates


Finding Duplicates and Merging Records on Your Family Tree – Julie Wilcox

Unfortunately we all have some duplicate records on our family trees. In this class you will learn how to find those duplicate records and then correctly merge them.
Class Handouts
Finding Duplicates and Merging Records

Upcoming Dates (Zoom only. Not taught in center.)



DISCOVER, GATHER & CONNECT CLASSES

Using Google to Organize Your Photos - Judi Rowe

Part 1

Manage and organize your photos with Google Photos. Learn the three ways photos can be stored: photo library, facial recognition and albums. Learn how to navigate google photos and set up your phone to receive all photos taken and free up memory on your phone.

Class Handouts
Google Photos - Part 1

Upcoming Dates


Part 2

Learn how to edit your photos, edit facial groupings and edit albums in Google Photos.

Class Handouts
Google Photos - Part 2

Upcoming Dates


Binding Generations Together by Writing your Personal and Family Histories
- Mark VanOrden

Genealogies, family stories, historical accounts, and traditions - form a bridge between past and future and bind generations together in ways that no other keepsake can. Most people do not know where to begin when generating their personal or family history. This class will help you get started and teach you practical and easy ways to write a personal or family history using both text and pictures. (You do not need to be a trained writer.) The class covers how to use tools like Word, Powerepoint, Snippet, and the internet to generate your documents. We will also discuss ideas on how to print and publish and share your documents. Writing your story or a family history should be enjoyable and the value is priceless.


Class Handouts
Writing Your Personal and Family Histories

Upcoming Dates (Zoom only. Not taught in center.)


Quick and Easy Family History Activities – Mark Van Orden

This class will introduce you to some quick, easy and fun family history activities that you can do with your family. It is a great way to get started with family history.

Class Handouts
Quick and Easy Family History Activities

Upcoming Dates



INDEXING CLASSES

Indexing - Part 1 - Kathy Farnes

Indexing is a great way to help with family history. Learn how to index data, such as birth and death records, marriage certificates, census documents, etc.


Class Handouts
Indexing Terms
Indexing Helps
Indexing for Youth
Indexing Ruler
Indexing Icons

Upcoming Dates


Indexing - Part 2 - Kathy Farnes

This class will teach you more about indexing and how to become a reviewer.


Class Handouts
Indexing - Reviewing

Upcoming Dates



FAMILY HISTORY RESEARCH CLASSES

Finding Your Family Through Census Records - David Brewer

Country, State, and local census records track the location, family members, and many other bits of information that can often lead to profound discoveries. Learning how to find your family in them can often be a tricky task. We will talk about some of the ways to get the most out of those valuable records.

Class Handouts
Census Analysis - Part 1
Census Analysis - Part 2
US Census Headings 1790-1860
US Census Headings 1870-1930
Using the Census to Find Other Records
US-UK-Canadian Cenus Forms

Upcoming Dates


Discover Family History Through Military Records - Julie Wilcox

Military records can provide a wealth of information that can help you get to know your ancestors better and may even provide data found nowhere else. This class will discuss a variety of military records and how to find them.

Class Handouts
(Zoom only. Not taught in center)
Finding Family History Through Military Records

Upcoming Dates


Finding Death, Burial and Cemetery Records - Julie Wilcox

Can't find a death certificate? This class will help you learn about death certificates and a variety of alternate sources for death and burial records. Each death record tells a story and may provide important clues to help you find and learn about your ancestors.

Class Handouts
Finding Death, Burial and Cemetery Records

Upcoming Dates (Zoom only. Not taught in center.)


Five Minute Family History Success - Julie Wilcox

President Nelson has invited us to sacrifice a little of our time doing family history work. Even if you only have a few minutes of time, there are many family history activities you can do. This lesson will show you over twenty ways you can do a little family history every day.

Class Handouts
Five Minute Family History Successes

Upcoming Dates (Zoom only. Not taught in center.)


Crossing the Pond – Finding Emigration and Immigration Records
- Julie Wilcox

All of us have ancestors who arrived in the United States from another country. This class will offer help in finding your ancestors emigration, immigration, and naturalization records from early colonial times to more recent records.

Class Handouts
Crossing the Pond

Upcoming Dates (Zoom only. Not taught in center.)


Newspapers Are a Genealogical Treasure - Julie Wilcox

Everyone knows obituaries are a family history treasure. This class will help you understand that newspapers can help you learn so much more about an ancestor. We will show examples of news you can find and explain how to find the right newspapers and information about newspaper websites.

Class Handouts
Newspapers are a Genealogical Treasure

Upcoming Dates (Zoom only. Not taught in center.)


Tips and Tricks for Improving Your Search Results - Julie Wilcox

We can all use a little help sometimes! We will demonstrate some of my tips and tricks for improving your family history search for information about your ancestors.

Class Handouts
Tips and Tricks for Improving Your Search

Upcoming Dates (Zoom only. Not taught in center.)


Finding Your Cousins Through Descendancy Research and Puzzilla
- Julie Wilcox

Learn how to use Descendancy Research through Puzzilla.org and FamilySearch to expand your family tree

Class Handouts
Descendancy Research - Expand Your Family Tree

Upcoming Dates (Zoom only. Not taught in center.)


Finding your Family in City Directories - Julie Wilcox

As an important resource for family history research, city directories can provide fascinating new discoveries for anyone exploring their family history in mid-19th to mid-20th century America.
Class Handouts
Using City Directories to Find your Family
Upcoming Dates (Zoom only. Not taught in center.)



Finding Your Danish Ancestors - Julie Wilcox

You don't have to speak the language to do Danish Research! In this class you will learn about how to begin searching for your Danish ancestors using key web sites to aid in Danish research. You can do it!

Class Handouts
Finding Your Danish Ancestors

Upcoming Dates (Zoom only. Not taught in center.)



Using the FamilySearch Catalog and Browsing un-indexed Records
– Julie Wilcox

Learn how to best use and search the catalog of genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) made available by FamilySearch online and in libraries and centers. Also, how to browse records that have not yet been indexed and link those records to the family tree. Included are hints for using the catalog on Ancestry.com.
Class Handouts
Using FamilySearch Catalog

Upcoming Dates (Zoom only. Not taught in center.)


Finding and Correcting Errors in FamilySearch – Art Robbins

Because FamilySearch Tree contains input errors created by innocent mistakes, we have the opportunity to correct these errors. This class will show methods for locating such errors and then making corrections and adding documentation.
Class Handouts
Correcting Errors in FamilySearch

Upcoming Dates (Zoom only. Not taught in center,)


Using Google to support FamilySearch Research – Art Robbins

With its billions of websites, using Google to locate additional family history data can be very challenging. Here are some tips and techniques to assist you in that research.
Class Handouts
Tips for Using Google

Upcoming Dates (Zoom only. Not taught in center.)



ANCESTRY.COM CLASSES

Ancestry – Overview and Creating your Tree – Alvin Jones

This is an introductory class to Ancestry.com. It is an established research tool which interfaces with FamilySearch. Please make sure you have an Ancestry username and password before attending this class.
Class Handouts
Creating a Tree
Download a Tree
Mac Keyboard Shortcuts
PC Keyboard Shortcuts
Ancestry Homepage
Navigating your Tree
Websites
Upcoming Dates


Ancestry – Research using your Tree – Alvin Jones

This class will cover research tools using your personal tree in Ancestry. Please have a tree established in Ancestry before attending this class.
Class Handouts
Hints and Search
United Kingdom Census
U.S. Census
Upcoming Dates


Ancestry – Exchanging Data with FamilySearch – Alvin Jones

This class will cover how you can share data between Ancestry.com and Family Search. Please have trees established in both Ancestry and FamilySearch before attending this class.
Class Handouts
Eternal Reminder
Merging Duplicates
Transferring Ancestry data to FamilySearch
Upcoming Dates


Ancestry – Exchanging Media Files and DNA – Alvin Jones

This is a class on how to share media files with Ancestry.com and FamilySearch and how to use and understand your DNA Results.
Class Handouts
Printing in Ancestry
Sharing DNA Results
Uploading Media
Upcoming Dates


Ancestry – Organize Your Research – Using FamilySearch & Ancestry.com
– Alvin Jones

This class will organize the way to do research by using FamilySearch and Ancestry.com. This class will cover a step by step process that will help you organize your research.
Class Handouts
Organize Your Research
Research Checklist
Upcoming Dates



MYHERITAGE CLASSES

MyHeritage Part 1 - Marijo Young

MyHeritage.com is a family-oriented, family history, global online network available in 42 languages. This class is an introductory overview of the MyHeritage program and what it offers and how it can be a beneficial program in your family history research arsenal.

Class Handouts
Creating a Tree in MyHeritage
Upcoming Dates


MyHeritage Part 2 - Marijo Young

We try to dive deeper into the searching, researching and matching features and explore some of the new groundbreaking photo features. Class Handouts
Coming soon

Upcoming Dates



Links to Online Classes at Other Centers

Family History Library Web-site
Family History Library Webinars
Archived Classes in the Learning Center (FHL)
BYU Webinars
Los Angeles FamilySearch Library
St. George FamilySearch Center
Ogden FamilySearch Center
Layton FamilySearch Center
Riverton FamilySearch Library

Center Hours
Lehi FamilySearch Center
Lost & Found
Monday - 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Tuesday-Thursday 9:00 AM to 9:00 PM

Center Directors
Julia and Wayne Mangelson
3201 Garden Drive
Lehi, UT 84043
Map Directions
(801)356-5820
Check our reception desk if
you believe you have left
items during your last visit.


If you have ideas on how we can improve our website - please click here