Lee County, Iowa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lee County, Iowa)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Iowa
Lee County

Guide to Lee County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Lee County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Lee County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 7, 1836
County Seat Fort Madison
Courthouse
IowaLeeCourthouse-North.jpg


County Information

Lee County, Iowa Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1880 1837 1880 1840 1830 1841

County Courthouse

History

Parent County

1836--Lee County was created 7 December 1836 from Des Moines County. County records for the northern portion of the county are housed in Fort Madison, southern records are housed in Keokuk. County seat: Fort Madison [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Biographies

Record Loss

1911 Courthouse was damaged by fire.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Des Moines • Henry • Van Buren • Clark County, Missouri • Hancock County, Illinois • Henderson County, Illinois

Lee CountyVan Buren CountyJefferson CountyHenry CountyLouisa CountyDes Moines CountyDavis CountyWapello CountyKeokuk CountyWashington CountyHancock CountyHenderson CountyMercer CountyWarren CountyMcDonough CountySchuyler CountyAdams CountyClark CountyScotland CountyLewis CountyKnox CountyIALee.JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
IAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
IAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Iowa Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.

The county poor farm was north of Keokuk. An old map showed a cemetery at this site. The cemetery was abandoned at sometime, and lost to the elements. An 1880 Census Jackson Township, has been transcribed[3]for the Lee County Poor Farm

Census

State Census

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Ambrosia
  • Zarahemla

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories 

Local histories are available for Lee County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


Maps

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Lee County, Iowa Genealogy for European settlers included:

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Lee County, Iowa Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lee County, Iowa Genealogy:

- 1st Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company A
- 1st Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company C
- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A
- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company B
- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company C
- 6th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
- 7th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
- 7th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
- 14th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
- 16th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
- 14th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
- 15th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
- 15th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
- 16th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
- 19th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A
- 19th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
- 30th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A
- 30th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
- 45th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company C
- 45th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company E
- 48th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company D

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lee County, Iowa Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • NewspaperArchive.com ($) has historical newspapers online including Burlington newspapers dating back to the mid 1800's that may have included Lee County residents. This database is free at some libraries.
  • Fort Madison Evening Democrat.1952. Fort Madison, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Probate

Online Probate Records

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Lee - Probate records.


Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Societies and Libraries

Lee County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 303
Keokuk, Iowa, 52632
E-mail: mystique747@iowatelecom.net
Website

Lee County, Iowa Historical Society
318 North 5th Street
PO Box 125
Keokuk, Iowa 52632-5611
E-mail: lcihs@yahoo.com
Website

Old Fort Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 1
Fort Madison, Iowa 52627
E-mail: mystique747@iowatelecom.net
Website

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Lee County, Iowa Genealogy
State Historical Society of Iowa Free list and links to data and "hard copy" material - results of "lee county" placed in search box
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "lee county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "lee county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
genealogytrails.com Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Lee County, Iowa Genealogy
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Lee County IA at LDS Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Lee County, Iowa Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Lee County, Iowa Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Lee County, IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Lee County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 225-231. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. This file was contributed for use in the USGenWeb Archives by: Mary Marsh April, 17 2002
  4. National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).