Lee County, Florida Genealogy
Guide to Lee County Florida Genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Lee County, Florida|
Location in the state of Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
|Founded||May 13, 1887|
|County Seat||Fort Myers|
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 African American
- 5.2 Cemeteries
- 5.3 Census
- 5.4 Church
- 5.5 Court
- 5.6 Land
- 5.7 Local Histories
- 5.8 Maps
- 5.9 Military
- 5.10 Newspapers
- 5.11 Obituaries
- 5.12 Probate
- 5.13 Taxation
- 5.14 Voter Registration
- 5.15 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
Lee County, Florida Record Dates
Lee County Courthouse
2115 2nd St;
Fort Myers, FL 33901
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate court and land records.
The county was named for Robert E. Lee, general in the American Civil War. The County Seat is Fort Myers and the county was created 1887. The County is located in the Southwest area of the state.
For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
- Charlotte - Charlotte County was established April 23, 1921 named for the Bay of Charlotte Harbor. Punta Gorda is the only incorporated city in Charlotte County.
- Collier - Collier County was created in 1923 from Lee County. It was named for Barron Collier, an advertising mogul and real estate developer from New York City.
- Glades - Glades County was created in 1921 and is named for the Florida Everglades. The Brighton Seminole Indian Reservation is located in the county.
- Hendry - Hendry County was formed from Lee County on May 11, 1923 and named for Major Francis A. Hendry, one of the first settlers. Hendry County is the site of the Big Cypress Seminole Indian Reservation.
The following web site may have additional information on Lee County cemeteries.
- Interment.net Florida cemetery records
For tips on accessing Lee County, Florida Genealogy census records online, see: Florida Census.
- 1783 Spanish Census USGenWeb
- 1821 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
- 1823 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
- 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos USGenWeb
- Federal Census Information from National Archives USGenWeb
- State Census Information from Florida State Archives USGenWeb
- Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service USGenWeb
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Lee County, Florida Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.
- Lee County Florida maps University of Southern Florida.
- 1821-1997 Maps of Florida
- 1870 Gray's Atlas Panhandle Portion of StateUSGenWeb
- 1882 Rand McNally Panhandle Portion of StateUSGenWeb
- Exploring Florida, FCIT Maps University of South Florida
- Lee County Military Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Florida State Military Files USGenWeb
- Florida state pension records from various wars Pension Transcriptions USGenWeb
- 1861 - 1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1885 - 1955 - Florida Confederate Veterans and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1955 at FamilySearch — images only
World War I
- 1917 - 1918 - Lee County Civilian Draft Registration (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1917 - 1920 - Florida, World War I Navy Card Roster, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II
- Lee County World War II Army Enlistees, Names Abram - Evans (USGenWeb Archives)
- Lee County World War II Army Enlistees, Names Farabee - Kurtz (USGenWeb Archives)
- Lee County World War II Army Enlistees, Names Lamb - Rutledge (USGenWeb Archives)
- Lee County World War II Army Enlistees, Names Sadler - Yuhant (USGenWeb Archives)
- Lee County Korean War Casualties (Genealogy Trails)
- Florida Casualties in the Korean Conflict distantcousin.com
- Lee County Vietnam War Casualties (Genealogy Trails)
- Florida Casualties in the Vietnam War distantcousin.com
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lee County, Florida Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- News-Press 2442 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Fort Myers, FL 33901- 239.335.0200
- Microfilm for the Fort Myers News-Press from 1884 to the present can be found at the Fort Myers Regional Library
2450 First Street
Fort Myers, Florida 33901
- USGenWeb Archives Early Florida Newspapers at the Florida State Library
- Florida Obituaries USGenWeb Archives Obituary transcriptions from Florida counties
- 1930 and 1997 Obituary Index Lee County Genealogical Society Online searchable database www.lcgsfl.org/cpage.php Lee County Genealogical Society. Society volunteers will be happy to help you with your request for an obituary copy.
Probate records are held by the Lee County, Florida Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Lee County, Florida Genealogy Courthouse. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Records
- 1784 – 1990 FamilySearch Florida Probate Records 1784-1990
- 1810 – 1974 Ancestry.com $ Florida Wills and Probate Records 1810-1974
- Florida State Archives $
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.
1885-1909 "Voter Registration Records, Town of Fort Myers and Lee County, Florida 1885-1909". A limited printing was done with copies being donated to the Fort Myers Regional Library, the Southwest Florida Museum of History, the Southwest Florida Historical Society, the State Library of Florida, and the Lee County Genealogical Society.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.
- 1877 - 1939 Florida, Deaths, 1877-1939 at FamilySearch — index
- 1900 - 1921 Florida, Deaths and Burials, 1900-1921 at FamilySearch — index
- 1877 - 1998 Florida, Death Index, 1877-1998 at FamilySearch — index
- 1802 - 1998 - Florida, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1837 - 1974 Florida, Marriages, 1837-1974 at FamilySearch — index
- 1830 - 1993 Florida, Marriages, 1830-1993 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1830 - 1957 - Florida, County Marriages, 1830-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1822 - 1875 and 1927 - 2001 Florida, Marriage Index, 1822-1875 and 1927-2001 at FamilySearch — index
- 1887 - 1924 - Lee County Genealogical Society Lee County, Florida Marriages 1887-1924
- Collier County Marriages Florida GenWeb Project
- Florida State Archives
Societies and Libraries
- Lee County Genealogical Society, Inc
- Calendar of Events[http://www.lcgsfl.org/eventListings.php?nm=109
- Bonita Genealogy Club Post Office Box 366471br>Bonita Springs
- Rootsweb Southwest Florida Pioneers Historical Society
Post Office Box 274
Boca Grande FL 33921)
- Fort Myers Regional Library
- Random Acts of Kindness List of Florida Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical Genealogical Societies
- FamilySearch Find a Family History Center
- Florida Historical Society
- Florida State Genealogical Society
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Lee County, FL History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Florida Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Florida Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Southwest Florida Pioneers Historical Society
- Lee County, FLGenWeb
- State of Florida
- Lee County, Florida, USGenWeb Archives
- Lee County Genealogical Society, Inc
- Bonita Springs Genealogy Club
- Lee County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Lee County, FLGenWeb Project, Inc.
- My Florida Roots - by Mary
- Lee County, Florida Genealogy Trails
- Lee County FL Genealogy (LDS Genealogy)
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lee County, Florida . Page 133-137 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 143-145.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Lee County, Florida Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/fla/lee/ accessed 04/25/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Lee County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_County,_Florida 04/25/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Lee County, Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_County,_Florida, accessed 26 January 2019.