Ledbury, Herefordshire Genealogy
Guide to Ledbury, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Ledbury St Michael & All Angels Herefordshire
|Poor Law Union||Ledbury|
|Parish registers: 1556|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
LEDBURY (St. Michael), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Radlow, county of Hereford. This place derives its name from the river Leden, which intersects the parish from north to south. 
The extensive Ancient Parish of Ledbury St Michael and All Angels included the hamlet of Bradlow, Leadon and Haffield (Sometimes found as Leadon with Haffield) Mitchell and Netherton (Sometimes found as Mitchell with Netherton) Parkhold, The Borough, Wall Hills( sometimes spelled Wallhills)
The Parish Church of St Michael and All Angels, Cabbage Lane, Ledbury and the detached Bell Tower have been designated as a grad I listed building British listed building
Ledbury Baptist Church has been designated as a grade II listed building asa part of a group of buildings in the town British listed building
The United Reformed Church (formerly Congregational0 Church Road Ledbury has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
Ledbury Mission Hall, Bye Street is now converted for use as a Funeral Disrector's premises
For further history of Ledbury churches see Herefordshire Through Time website
See also ledbury GENUKI which includes the Ledbury births 1696-1706 which are found in the general register of Ledbury 1686-1744 which is of value to non-conformist record searches in the parish. Also contains gazeteer entry material for the town and bibliography.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Ledbury, Herefordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|DEAN = Forest of Dean Family History Trust - free|
|Ledbury, Herefordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.
See also Ledbury GENUKI which includes the Ledbury births 1696-1706 which are found in the general register of Ledbury 1686-1744 which is of value to non-conformist record searches in the parish.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
see also Herefordshire Church Records
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through theFHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.
The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved. Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.Find my Past 1911 census
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. For Probate Records for Ledbury, click on the link.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 46-55. Adapted. Date Accessed: 8 March, 2013.
- 'Transcript Summary,' Forest of Dean Family History Trust, accessed 18 July 2016. The Forest of Dean Family History Trust's 'policy is not to show records within the following cut off years - Baptisms 90 years, Marriages 70 years, Burials 30 years.'