|Lebanon Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Lebanon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Country Information[edit | edit source]
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Lebanon Research
Links to articles on getting started with Lebanon research.
Lebanon Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Lebanon research.
Lebanon Map[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Lebanon. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.
Districts[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Lebanon.
Lebanon is divided into six governorates and further subdivided into twenty-five districts. The districts themselves are also divided into several municipalities, each enclosing a group of cities or villages:
Beirut Governorate (city of Beirut only)
Nabatieh Governorate (Jabal Amel)
- Bint Jbeil
- Western Beqaa (al-Beqaa al-Gharbi)
North Governorate (al-Shamal)
Mount Lebanon Governorate (Jabal Lubnan)
- Byblos (Jbeil)
South Governorate (al-Janoub)
- Sidon (Saida)
- Tyre (Sur)
Two new governorates have been approved but not yet implemented: Akkar (from Akkar District) and Baalbek-Hermel (from Baalbek District and Hermel District).
To find towns and cities, use Lebanese Gazeteer
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Lebanon," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lebanon, accessed 27 April 2016.