Le Flore County, Oklahoma Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Le Flore County, Oklahoma)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Le Flore County

Guide to Le Flore County, Oklahoma ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Poteau
Organized: July 16, 1907
Parent County(s): Choctaw Lands[1]
Neighboring Counties
Haskell  • Latimer  • McCurtain  • Polk (AR)  • Pushmataha  • Scott (AR)  • Sebastian (AR)  • Sequoyah
See County Maps
Location Map

County Information


LeFlore County is in the extreme eastern part of the state founded 1907. Poteau is the county seat.[2] The name honors a Choctaw family named LeFlore.[3]

County Courthouse

Le Flore County Courthouse
100 S. Broadway Street
Poteau, Oklahoma 74953-0607
Phone: 918.647-5738

Le Flore County Courthouse
100 S Broadway Street
Poteau, OK 74953-0607
Phone: 918.647-5738

Clerk Court has marriage records from 1898, divorce, probate and court records from 1907;
County Clerk has land records[1]

Le Flore County, Oklahoma Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1908 1897 1908 1908 1907

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Le Flore County, Oklahoma:[4]


  • Heavener
  • Poteau (county seat)
  • Spiro


  • Arkoma
  • Bokoshe
  • Cameron
  • Cowlington
  • Fanshawe (partly in Latimer County)
  • Fort Coffee
  • Howe
  • Le Flore
  • Panama
  • Pocola
  • Rock Island
  • Shady Point
  • Spiro
  • Talihina
  • Wister

Unincorporated communities

  • Big Cedar
  • Hodgen
  • Monroe
  • Muse
  • Skullyville
  • Whitesboro

History Timeline


Bible Records


Business, Commerce, and Occupations


Cemeteries of Le Flore County, Oklahoma online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Oklahoma Cemeteries for more information


  • Royal Oak Cemetery (Poker Bend)

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 29,127
1920 42,765 46.8%
1930 42,896 0.3%
1940 45,866 6.9%
1950 35,276 −23.1%
1960 29,106 −17.5%
1970 32,137 10.4%
1980 40,698 26.6%
1990 43,270 6.3%
2000 48,109 11.2%
2010 50,384 4.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Le Flore County, Oklahoma Genealogy census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Oklahoma starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Oklahoma Census.

State Census Records

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

Royal Oak Free Will Baptist Church

Court Records


Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

American Indians


Land and Property

Funeral Homes



Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

For more information see Oklahoma Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Le Flore County, Oklahoma Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers



Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship


Oklahoma Newspapers Online

Oklahoma Newspaper Catalogs

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Le Flore County, Oklahoma Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Other Records


Probate Records

In most counties in Oklahoma, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Oklahoma - Le Flore - Probate records.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.


Online Birth Records Indexes and Images


Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images


Online Death Records Indexes and Images


Online Divorce Records Indexes and Images

Research Facilities


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.




Poteau Valley Genealogy Society
PO Box 1031
Poteau, OK 74953

Le Flore County Historical Society
303 Dewey Avenue
Poteau, Okalhoma 74953
Telephone: 918-647-9330
Facebook Page


  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides


  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Oklahoma. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/oka/leflore/ accessed 09/29/2016
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Furnas_County,_Nebraska accessed 09/29/2016
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Le Flore County, Oklahoma," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Le_Flore_County,_Oklahoma, accessed 6 August 2016.