Laurel County, Kentucky Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kentucky
Laurel County

Guide to Laurel County, Kentucky ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Laurel County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Laurel County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 12, 1825
County Seat London
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Laurel Co. KYGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Laurel County, Kentucky Genealogy Government Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Census Land Probate
1852 1826 1852 1830 1826 1826
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing
Laurel County, Kentucky Courthouse.JPG

Laurel County Courthouse
101 S Main Street
London, KY 40741
Phone: 606.864.5158 

County Clerk has marriage, land, probate and court records.
Clerk has marriage, land, probate, and court records. Land, probate & court records from 1826. [1]

History

Parent County

1825--Laurel County was created 12 December 1825 from Clay, Rockcastle, Whitley and Knox Counties.
County seat: London [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1958 A disaster destroyed some records.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Atlanta Crawford Lake Mershons
Baldrock Cruise Lamero North Corbin
Bernstadt Dorthae Langnau Oakley
Billows East Bernstadt Lesbas Pine Grove
Blackwater Fariston Lida Pittsburg
Boreing Fletcher Lily Sasser
Brock Greenmount London Sublimity City
Bush Hazel Patch Maplesville Symbol
Camp Grounds Hightop Marydell Tuttle
Cane Creek Hopewell McHargue Victory
Cornette Keavy McWhorter Vox

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Kylaurel.png

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Biographies

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Laurel, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Laurel county cemeteries.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18302,206
18403,07939.6%
18504,14534.6%
18605,48832.4%
18706,0169.6%
18809,13151.8%
189013,74750.6%
190017,59228.0%
191019,87213.0%
192019,814−0.3%
193021,1096.5%
194025,64021.5%
195025,7970.6%
196024,901−3.5%
197027,38610.0%
198038,98242.3%
199043,43811.4%
200052,71521.4%
Est. 200857,5869.2%
http://ukcc.uky.edu/~census/21125.txt

For tips on accessing Laurel County, Kentucky Genealogy census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church

Court

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Directories

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Laurel County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Online Records


Regiments. Service men in Laurel County, Kentucky Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Laurel County, Kentucky Genealogy:

- 2nd Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Company M
- 6th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Company E
- 7th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Company D
- 26th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Company K


Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Laurel County:

Map showing Civil War battles in Kentucky.
World War I
Korean War

Miscellaneous

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Laurel County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records are held by the Laurel County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Laurel County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

1826-1939 - Will Books 1 to 5 (1826-1939) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Laurel County Tax Lists from 1827-1863 are available for purchase as digital images in PDF format on CD from Jeff Renner's Genealogical Resources. When the PDF files are viewed in a program such as Acrobat Pro you can bookmark pages/images with year changes, ancestors names, etc. You can also drag an image/page out of Acrobat Pro and throw it into Photoshop to enhance viewing or you can just save that extracted page/image to be used as an attachment to your ancestor in whatever Record Manager (ie: Legacy, RootsMagic, etc) program you use.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Laurel County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Laurel County, Kentucky Genealogy Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.. See also How to order Kentucky Vital Records


Birth
  • 1839-1960 - KY Births and Christenings ~ Kentucky Births and Christenings, 1839-1960 Family Search
  • 1852-1861 - Laurel County Birth Index 1852-1861. Batch C517591 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1874 - Laurel County Birth Index 1874. Batch C517592 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • 1875 - Laurel County Birth Index 1875. Batch C517593 at FamilySearch - free.
  • Searchable KY Vital Records ~ Searchable databases of KY Births, Deaths and Marriages
Marriage
Death
Divorce
  • 1973-1993 - KY Divorces 1973 - 1993 ~ Kentucky Divorce Records 1973 - 1993 ~ University of Kentucky Vital Records Databases

Societies and Libraries

Laurel County Historical Society
310 West 3rd Street
London, Kentucky 40741
Telephone: 606-864-0607
Website

Corbin Genealogical Society
99 Boone Avenue
PO Box 353
Corbin KY 40701
E-mail:searcher130@hotmail.com
Website


Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Laurel County, Kentucky page 272, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August, 2012)
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0b/Igikentuckygl.pdf.