Laugharne, Carmarthenshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Laugharne, Carmarthenshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngLaugharne

A guide to genealogy in Laugharne, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Laugharne (Welsh: Talycharn or Lacharn) is a town and community in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

The town is world-famous as the home of Dylan Thomas from 1949 until his death in 1953, with it's Boathouse.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

History

In 1844: "LAUGHARNE, otherwise TÀLYCHARN, an incorporated sea-port and market-town, and a parish, in the higher division of the hundred of DERLLYS, union and county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 12 1/2 miles (S.W.) of Carmarthen, and 228 (W.) from London; containing 2011 inhabitants, of which number 1390 are in the township of Laugharne . . . The TOWN is beautifully situated on a level plot of ground, inclosed on every side, except towards the sea, by lofty eminences richly clothed with timber, and consists principally of one long and spacious street, intersected at right angles by a shorter thoroughfare, leading to that part of it called the Cors, in which are some new buildings. The houses are in general well built, and of respectable appearance; the streets are partially paved, and the inhabitants are amply supplied with water. . . The parish . . . is in general fertile and productive . . The church, dedicated to St. Martin, is a spacious and venerable cruciform structure, with a square embattled tower, supported on pointed arches . . . The remains of the ancient castle, which crowns the summit of a cliff at the mouth of the Tâf, near the southern extremity of the town, are extensive and in an excellent state of preservation . . ." [1]

For more information see Laugharne at Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Websites

References

  1. A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (S. Lewis, 1844)