Lauderdale County, Tennessee Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Lauderdale County, Tennessee ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Ripley
Organized: November 24, 1835
Parent County(s): Tipton, Haywood, Dyer[1]
Neighboring Counties
Crockett  • Dyer  • Haywood  • Mississippi (AR)  • Tipton
See County Maps
Courthouse
TNLauderdalecourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Lauderdale County, Tennessee.PNG
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
TGW 45x45.jpg This page adopted by:
TNGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for James Lauderdale. The County is located in the west central area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Lauderdale County Courthouse
County Courthouse
100 Court Square
Ripley, TN 38063
County Courthouse Phone: 731-635-2561
County Clerk Phone: 731-635-2561
Circuit Court Clerk Phone: 731-635-0101
Register of Deeds Phone: 731-635-2171

County Clerk has marriage records from 1838 and probate records
Clerk Chancery Court has divorce records
General Sessions Court has court records
Register of Deeds has land records. [3]

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[4] (female)
  2. Hear it spoken[5] (female)

Lauderdale County, Tennessee Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[6]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1881 1838 1881 1836 1822 1836 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1914. General compliance by 1927.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1869 Fire damaged courthouse records.[7]

  • Lack of marriage records: 1835 to 1837

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1835--Lauderdale County was created 24 November 1835 from Tipton, Haywood, and Dyer Counties.
  • County seat: Ripley[8]

For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Historic communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Additional Information
West Tennessee county. Established 1835.

The county was named after "James Lauderdale, who was killed in the War of 1812."[9]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

All of the family biographies from the History of Lauderdale County, Tennessee (1886) by Goodspeed are availableonline at My Genealogy Hound.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Miller, Alan N. West Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1821 to 1889. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2006. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2man. Purchase at Genealogical.com. Includes Lauderdale County.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Lauderdale County, Tennessee online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information.

 

Additional Cemetery Resources

Census Records[edit | edit source]

1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 federal population censuses of Lauderdale County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Lauderdale County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. The USGenWeb Census Project®

1810-1891

1840

  • Davis, Bettie B. Lauderdale County, Tennessee, 1840 Census, 1850 Census, and 1850 Mortality Schedule. Memphis, Tenn.: B.B. Davis, 1983. FHL US/CAN book 976.816 X2.

1840 Pensioners

1850

  • Davis, Bettie B. Lauderdale County, Tennessee, 1840 Census, 1850 Census, and 1850 Mortality Schedule. Memphis, Tenn.: B.B. Davis, 1983. FHL US/CAN book 976.816 X2

1850 Mortality Schedule

  • Davis, Bettie B. Lauderdale County, Tennessee, 1840 Census, 1850 Census, and 1850 Mortality Schedule. Memphis, Tenn.: B.B. Davis, 1983. FHL US/CAN book 976.816 X2

1880

  • Sistler, Samuel D. 1880 Census Lauderdale County, Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: Byron Sistler and Associates, 2002. FHL US/CAN book 976.816 X2

1891 Male Voters

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Law and Legislation

  • Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service. The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at the TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

DNA

  • DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Lauderdale County residents. Attempts have not been made to verify the lineages of those tested.
  • Brown - Descendant of Matthew Thomas Brown, b. 1831 Ripley, Lauderdale County, Tennessee. Y-DNA 25 Marker Test, FTDNA (Kit 30372). Genetic signature available online (labeled Group No. 22), genealogical description available online, courtesy: Brown/Browne/Braun DNA Study. Matches have been found.
  • Doss - Descendant of George W. Doss (c1864-c1900) of Lauderdale County, Tennessee. Y-DNA 37 Marker Test, FTDNA (Kit 88650). Genetic signature available online (labeled Jw-1), genealogical description available online, courtesy: The Doss DNA Project, World Families. Matches have been found.

Family Histories

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

  • Lauderdale County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1835 and is located at the Courthouse, 100 Court Square, Ripley, Tennessee 38063; Telephone: (731) 635-2561.TheLand and property records include transfer of real estate or personal property, mortgages, leases, surveys, and entries.
  • The Family History Library has microfilmed copiies of deeds 1835-1900; land surveys 1822-1954.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Dyer CountyCrockett CountyHaywood CountyTipton CountyMississippi CountyTN LAUDERDALE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

War of 1812

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Lauderdale County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lauderdale County:

Confederate Soldiers

Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Lauderdale County:

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War Battle was fought in Lauderdale County:

Map showing Civil War battles in Tennessee

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at the TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Lauderdale County click on the following cities and towns:

  • 1794-1851 - Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL 976.8 V2L.
  • 1847 - 1851 - Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s. (Largely Methodist?)

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Prisons[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Genealogical periodicals can contain unique sources and can be local, regional, or statewide. The following periodicals cover this county:

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

The County Court, Chancery Court, and County Clerk have responsibility for the probate records of Lauderdale County.

Online Records and Indexes


Book Abstracts and Indexes

  • 1837-1861 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. Includes an index to this county's probate records.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Lauderdale County's original Tax Books covering 1852-1856 and 1873 to 1887 are held at the County Courthouse. TSLA microfilmed these records in 1976. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 1008593-1008594.

The original Lauderdale County Roadwork Excuses and Poll Tax 1882-1927 are kept at the County Courthouse. GSU microfilmed these records in 2008: FHL US/CAN Film 1670142 Item 8.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online index and Records


Book Abstracts and Indexes

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

  • W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FamilySearch Books Online;

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Lauderdale County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Lauderdale County. For state-wide library facilities, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.

Forked Deer Regional Library
220 N Front St.
Halls, TN 38040
Phone: 731-836-5812
facebook

Halls Public Library
110 N Church St.
Halls, TN 38040
Phone: 731-836-5302
Facebook

Lauderdale County Library
120 Lafayette St
Ripley, TN 38063
Phone: 731-635-1872
Facebook

West Tennessee Heritage Study Center
Paul Meek Library
University of Tennessee at Martin
Phone: 731-881-7060
Hours vary by semester
Website

The Heritage Study Center holds a variety of genealogical resources including materials relating to the following counties in Tennessee: Benton, Carroll, Chester, Crockett, Decatur, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Henry, Houston, Humphreys, Lake, Lauderdale, Madison, McNairy, Obion, Perry, Shelby, Stewart, Tipton, Wayne, Weakley and Carlisle (KY), Fulton (KY), and Hickman (KY) counties in Kentucky.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Lauderdale County Museum
123 South Jefferson Street
Ripley, TN 38063
Phone: 731-635-9541
website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Lauderdale County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Tennessee Societies.
Lauderdale County Historical Society
For information write to:
Bettie B. Davis, Newsletter Editor
957 Doctor Hall Rd.
Halls, TN 38040-8727
Phone: 901-836-7073
Website Facebook

West Tennessee Historical Society
P.O. Box 111046
Memphis, TN 38111
Phone: 901-475-6608
E-mail: efrank@memphis.edu
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Lauderdale, Tennessee" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lauderdale_County,_Tennessee accessed 24 Dec 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee, p. 641.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Voice of Louise Lynch, Archivist, Williamson County, Tennessee Archives (2010).
  5. Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Lost Records: Courthouse Fires and Disasters in Tennessee in Tennessee State Library and Archives in Tennessee Secretary of State (accessed 13 March 2016).
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
  10. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State
  11. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/8/88/Igitennesseel.pdf.
  12. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/8/88/Igitennesseel.pdf.