Latah County, Idaho Genealogy
Guide to Latah County, Idaho ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Latah County, Idaho|
Location in the state of Idaho
Location of Idaho in the U.S.
|Founded||May 14, 1888|
|Address||Latah County Courthouse|
522 S. Adams
P.O. Box 8068
Moscow, ID 83843
Phone: (208) 882-8580 ext. 3379
Fax: (208) 883-7203
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Quick Facts
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Miscellaneous Series
- 7 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 8 Newspapers
- 9 Obituaries
- 10 Societies, Libraries and Museums
- 11 Websites
- 12 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for Latah Creek. The County Seat is Moscow and was founded May 14, 1888. It is located in the north area of the state.
Latah County, Idaho Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Latah County Courthouse
522 S. Adams
P.O. Box 8068
Moscow, ID 83843
Phone: (208) 882-8580 ext. 3379
Fax: (208) 883-7203
County Clerk Recorder has birth and death records 1907-1911, marriage, land and military discharge records from 1888 and naturalization records 1845-1898.
District Court has probate records from 1896, court records from 1891 and divorce records from 1940. 
Quick Facts[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Home Town Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.
Resources[edit | edit source]
The types of records that follow are used for genealogy and family history. Most tell what you may learn and how to locate the records. Links to Internet sites usually go directly to Latah County, Idaho Genealogy entries with names, images, or information.
|Don't overlook Latah County, Idaho Genealogy items in the FamilySearch Library Catalog. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see Archives and Libraries.|
Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Latah County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers. They are also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in Moscow.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|IDGenWeb Archives||FamilySearch Places|
|See Idaho Cemeteries for more information.|
There are many cemeteries in Latah County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Latah County, Idaho Cemetery Records.
For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.
Census[edit | edit source]
For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records.
The 1890 federal census for Idaho was destroyed. However, the Idaho State Historical Society Public Archives and Research Library is creating a list of 1890 Idaho residents by indexing a variety of records, 1885-1894. This reconstructed list will substitute for the destroyed 1890 federal census.
Church[edit | edit source]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)[edit | edit source]
- In 1930, Latah County was part of Northwestern States Mission. There were no stake organized in the area at the time.
- 14 May 1888: Latah County was created from Nez Perce County.
Lutheran[edit | edit source]
- Records of the American Lutheran Church, Kendrick, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
- Records of Our Savior's Lutheran Church, Moscow, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
List of Churches and Church Parishes
County Commissioners' Records[edit | edit source]
The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.
Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the county clerk for information about years covered and availability.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Some of the early court records of Latah County, Idaho have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho. The records filmed include civil suits, divorce papers, judgment dockets, etc. Copies of these microfilmed court records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or at any of the Library'sFamily History Centers. Additional court records and more recent records are housed at the Latah County courthouse in Moscow, and can be accessed by making a visit there.
Some of the records of the courts of Latah County that have been microfilmed include:
- Court records, 1889-1939
- Power of attorney, 1879-1947; index, 1879-1986
Judgment Books[edit | edit source]
- Judgments, 1889-1942
Directories[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
The digitized book An illustrated history of north Idaho : embracing Nez Perces, Idaho, Latah, Kootenai and Shoshone counties, state of Idaho is available online at archive.org.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Land and Property records are generally recorded in the county courthouse of the county in which the transaction took place. For original records of Latah County, Idaho, one may visit the courthouse in Moscow, Idaho.
The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed many county records of Latah County and these can be accessed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.
The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has microfilmed originals of the following records found in the Latah County Courthouse in Moscow, Idaho which can be accessed at the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of its Family History Centers:
- Declaration of homesteads, 1888-1918; index, 1884-1986
- Deeds, 1888-1907; index, 1888-1906
- Orders affecting real estate, 1881-1933; index, 1888-1986 (from Probate Court)
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Family Maps of Latah County, Idaho (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- An 1895 map of Latah and surrounding counties is available online.
- A digital Latah County Idaho map is available online.
- Map of Latah County, Idaho is available online.
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
Military[edit | edit source]
World War I draft registration cards, 1917-1918, for Latah County have been microfilmed. Copies of these records are available at the Family History Library (their microfilm numbers 1452217 and 1452218) and are also available online at Ancestry.com, for a subscription fee and at USGenWeb Archives. The original cards are maintained in the Southeast Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in East Point, Georgia and have been microfilmed by the National Archives as their Microcopy M1509.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Idaho, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Miscellaneous Series[edit | edit source]
Often overlooked by the genealogist, this group of volumes may contain affidavits for citizenship, final disposition of estates, divorce decrees, and many other types of valuable documents. The content varies from county to county, year to year and from clerk to clerk. When the estate case files, civil or criminal files are not available or have been destroyed, you may find key documents recorded here. Most counties will have an index to this series and it is a must search if the information you are seeking is not found elsewhere.
Both the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho, and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah have copies of the miscellaneous record of Latah County. The originals are held in the Latah County courthouse in Moscow, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting there. Copies in the Idaho State Archives are available for viewing in Boise. Those held by the Family History Library can be viewed either at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of itsFamily History Centers.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Current[edit | edit source]
Historical[edit | edit source]
- Idaho State Archives digital newspaper project.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Probate[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Records
- 1857-1989 - Idaho Wills and Probate Records 1857-1989 at Ancestry.com $
Probate records are usually housed in the county in which the transactions took place, so the Latah County records should be available in Moscow, Idaho by visiting the county courthouse there.
The Idaho State Archives has also microfilmed many Latah County probate records, and these copies can be accessed by visiting their facility in Boise, Idaho.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Any existing tax assessment rolls for Latah County should be in the courthouse in Moscow and would need to be accessed by visiting there.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Births[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1911 - Idaho, Birth Index, 1861-1911 at FamilySearch — index
- 1883-1929 - Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch.
The Birth Registers for Latah County, 1907-1911 have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Birth records, 1911 to present, for individuals born in Latah County are included in and recorded at the state level. These records are restricted for a period of one hundred years from the time of the individual's birth but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under the subject Idaho for more details.
Some 254 birth and christening records for Latah County are found among the Idaho Birth and Christenings online.
Marriages[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1987 - Idaho, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1864-1976 - Idaho Church Marriages, 1864-1976 at FamilySearch — index
- 1864-1950 - Idaho County Marriages, 1864-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1878-1898; 1903-1942 - Idaho Marriages, 1878-1898; 1903-1942 at FamilySearch — index
- 1947-1963 - Idaho Marriage Index, 1947-1961 at FamilySearch — index
Over 7800 marriages, 1868-1942, are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.
Some 2128 marriages in Latah County are available in the Idaho Marriages online.
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Deaths[edit | edit source]
- 1883-1929 - Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1938-1961 - Idaho Death Certificates, 1938-1961 at FamilySearch — index
The death registers for Latah County, 1907-1911 have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City, Utah.
After 1911, deaths occurring in Latah County are included in the state-wide registration program. These records are restricted for a period of fifty years from the time of the individual's death but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under Idaho for details.
Copies of death certificates from 1911-1954 are on microfilm and can be used at the Idaho State Archives, the Family History Library, BYU-Idaho University Library in Rexburg and several other locations.
A state-wide index to Idaho Deaths, 1911-1956 is available online. Efforts to expand this index to 1960 are underway. Another version is the US Genweb Idaho Death Index 1911-1956.
Some 408 deaths or burials from Latah County are found among the online Idaho deaths and burials.
Societies, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.
- Latah County District Library
110 S Jefferson St
Moscow, ID 83843
- Latah County Historical Society
327 East Second Street
Moscow, ID 83843
- McConnell Mansion Museum
110 South Adams Street
Moscow, ID 83843-2829
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Latah County ID GenWeb Project, a member of The IDGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Latah County, Idaho Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Latah County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Latah_County,_Idaho
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Latah County, Idaho. Page 177-180 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 180-181.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Latah, Idaho page 179, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Latah County,Idaho," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Latah_County,_Idaho#Communities, accessed 11 June 2019.
- Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
- census.gov - Idaho population by county, 1900-90 accessed 2009-05-03
- quickfacts.census.gov - Canyon County accessed 2009-05-03