Lassen County, California Genealogy
Guide to Lassen County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Lassen County, California|
Location in the state of California
Location of California in the U.S.
|Founded||April 1, 1864|
|Address|| Lassen Superior Court Hall of Justice |
2610 Riverside Drive
Susanville, CA 96130
Lassen County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Historical Facts
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Bible Records
- 5.2 Biography
- 5.3 Cemeteries
- 5.4 Census
- 5.5 Church History and Records
- 5.6 Court Records
- 5.7 Crime and Criminals
- 5.8 Directories
- 5.9 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 5.10 Gazetteers
- 5.11 Genealogy
- 5.12 History
- 5.13 Land and Property
- 5.14 Maps
- 5.15 Migration
- 5.16 Military History and Records
- 5.17 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 5.18 Newspapers
- 5.19 Obituaries
- 5.20 Periodicals
- 5.21 Probate Records
- 5.22 Repositories
- 5.23 Societies
- 5.24 Taxation
- 5.25 Vital Records
- 5.26 Voting Registers
- 6 Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
Lassen County, California Record Dates
The new Lassen Superior Court Hall of Justice opened at their new location on Riverside Drive in May of 2012.
The County Clerk and Recorder's Office is in the old courthouse located at 220 S. Lassen Street, Susanville, CA 96130 (phone 530.251.8216). The County Clerk has divorce, probate court and naturalization records from 1864. The County Recorder has marriage records from 1864, land records from 1857, birth and death records from 1907, some prior to 1907 but incomplete before 1929.
The county was named from Mount Lassen which was named for Peter Lassen, one of General John C. Fremont's guides and a famous trapper, frontiersman and Indian fighter. He was murdered under mysterious circumstances near the Black Rock Desert in 1859. The County Seat is Susanville and was founded 1864. It is located in the northeastern area of the state.
For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
- Surname Index to Lassen County Biographies (USGenWeb Archives)
- Lassen County Biographies (Genealogy Trails)
The following web site may have additional information on Lassen County cemeteries.
- Interment.net California cemetery records by County.
For tips on accessing Lassen County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.
- 1870, 1920 - Lassen County Census Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Church History and Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Lassen Superior Court Defendant Index (Tim Purdy Presents Exploring Lassen County's Past and more)
Crime and Criminals
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Lassen County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.
- Index to Lassen County Historical Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Lassen County History (CAGenWeb Project)
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- Lassen County Index to Federal Land Patents (USGenWeb Archives)
- California Trail 1844 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California
- The Lassen Cutoff 1848 was established by gold rushers from Oregon going to California. It branched off the Applegate Trail at Davis Creek, went through Devil's Garden to the Pit River passing east of Mt. Lassen, and turning west to Lassen Rancho, California, and from there to Sacramento. In some years as much as 1/3 of emigrants mistakenly took the Applegate Trail-Lassen Cutoff, a much longer and more difficult trail than the Truckee or Carson routes.
- Beckwourth Trail 1850 left the Truckee Trail near present-day Sparks, Nevada going to Oroville and Marysville, California
- Nobles Road 1851 from the Applegate Trail at Rabbithole Springs in the Black Rock Desert of Nevada to Shasta City, California
Military History and Records
- 1883 - Lassen County List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
World War I
- Lassen County World War I Era Honor Roll (Genealogy Trails)
World War II
- Lassen County, Index to World War II Army Enlistees (USGenWeb Archives)
- Lassen County World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel (Genealogy Trails)
- Lassen County World War II Era Honor Roll (Genealogy Trails)
- Lassen County Korean War Veterans Honor Roll (Genealogy Trails)
- Lassen County Vietnam War Honor Roll (Genealogy Trails)
Naturalization and Citizenship
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lassen County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Lassen County Obituary Index (Tim Purdy Presents Exploring Lassen County's Past and more)
- Index to Lassen County Obituaries (Genealogy Trails)
- Lassen County Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Lassen - Probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1782 - 1999 - California Wills and Probate Records 1782-1999 at Ancestry.com - index and images $
- 1891 - 1955 - Lassen County California list of will book testators SAMPUBCO - Browsable index of testators of wills - free
- 1833 - 1991 - California Probate Estate Files 1833-1991 at FamilySearch — images
- Index to Lassen County Probate Records (Tim I. Purdy Presents Exploring Lassen County's Past and more . . .)
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records
- 1812 - 1988 - California Births and Christenings, 1812-1988 at FamilySearch — index
- 1870 - 1940 - Lassen County Birth Notices (Genealogy Trails)
- 1905 - 1995 - California Birth Index, 1905-1995 at FamilySearch — index
- 1850 - 1945 - California Marriages, 1850-1945 at FamilySearch — index
- 1850 - 1952 - California, County Marriages, 1850-1952 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1854 - 1885 - Western States Marriage Index
- 1889 - 1940 - Lassen County Marriage Notices (Genealogy Trails)
- 1960 - 1985 - California Marriage Index, 1960-1985 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1905 - 1939 - California Death Index, 1905-1939 at FamilySearch — index
- 1940 - 1997 - California Death Index, 1940-1997 at FamilySearch — index
Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
Lassen County Historical Society
P.O. Box 321
Lassen Historical Museum
105 N. Weatherlow Street
P.O. Box 321
Susanville, CA 96130
Phone (530) 257-4584
- Lassen County, CA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- California Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- California Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Lassen County CAGenWeb
- USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Lassen County, California Genealogy Trails
- Lassen County CA Genealogy (LDS Genealogy)
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 62-75. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lassen County, California. Page 85 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Lassen County, California Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/cal/lassen/ 5/03/2017.
- National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 5 August 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "California Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Trail (accessed 5 August 2012).