To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Las Animas County, Colorado Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Las Animas County, Colorado)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Las Animas County, Colorado ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Trinidad
Organized: 9 February 1866
Parent County(s): Huerfano [1]
Neighboring Counties
Baca  • Bent  • Colfax (NM)  • Costilla  • Huerfano  • Otero  • Pueblo  • Union (NM)
See County Maps
Courthouse
ColoradoLasAnimasCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Colorado Las Animas County.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Las Animas is the largest of the 64 counties in Colorado. Las Animas takes its name from the Spanish name for the Purgatoire River that runs through the county. Originally the river was called "El Rio de las Animas Perdidas en Purgatorio", which means "River of the Lost Souls in Purgatory."

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Las Animas County Courthouse
200 E 1st St
Trinidad, CO 81082
Phone: 719.846.3314
Las Animas County Website

County Clerk has marriage records from 1887, land records from 1883 and military discharge records from 1918;
County Health Department has birth and death records.
Clerk District Court has divorce, probate and court records[2]
Birth records exist for the city of Trinidad 1893-1907[3]

Las Animas County, Colorado Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1893 1887 1893 1866 1888 1866 1860
Statewide registration for births in 1910 and deaths in 1910. General compliance by 1920.


Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • Before 1861 this modern Colorado county was in New Mexico.
Look for pre-1861 records in New Mexico. For further explanation see Taos County.


Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[11]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Medina Plaza
  • Model
  • Monument Park
  • Parras Plaza
  • Patterson Crossing
  • Reilly Canyon
  • Rugby
  • San Miguel
  • Simpson
  • Tercio
  • Tijeras
Census-designated places
Ghost towns


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Las Animas County, Colorado online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Colorado Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

In 1860, present-day Colorado was enumerated in the Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico, and Utah Territories. Colorado Territory was created in 1861 and was enumerated as such in the 1870 Census. A state census was taken in 1885 for Colorado.[12] See links listed below.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1870 4,276
1880 8,903 108.2%
1890 17,208 93.3%
1900 21,842 26.9%
1910 33,643 54.0%
1920 38,975 15.8%
1930 36,008 −7.6%
1940 32,369 −10.1%
1950 25,902 −20.0%
1960 19,983 −22.9%
1970 15,744 −21.2%
1980 14,897 −5.4%
1990 13,765 −7.6%
2000 15,207 10.5%
2010 15,507 2.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State and Territory Census Records[edit | edit source]

Federal Census Records[edit | edit source]

The 1880 Census was the first Federal Census for Colorado after it became a state in 1876.[13] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Colorado Census.

  • 1860-1940 Colorado Census Records from 1860 to 1940 at FamilySearch.org — index/images

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.

Online Church Records
Presbyterian Church

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Numerous records are available at Colorado Archives. To use this link scroll down the page to where it asks for Record Type. Click there and scroll down the list to the records you want and select. The next field asks for county. Select the county you want and then click on Search. You can narrow the search by adding the additional information it asks for.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Online Directories

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.


Online Land Records

For more information see Colorado Land and Property

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Huerfano CountyPueblo CountyOtero CountyBent CountyBaca CountyUnion County, NMColfax County, NMCostilla CountyCO LAS ANIMAS.JPG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Online Collections[edit | edit source]

These collections are unique to Colorado. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Colorado Military Records.

All Veterans

Civil War

Spanish-American War (1898)

World War I

Vietnam War

For further information see Colorado Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For more information, see Colorado Newspapers.

Colorado Newspapers Online

Colorado Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper


Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.


School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Place Search for the county.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [14]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Death[edit | edit source]

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [14]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Las Animas County, Colorado Genealogy in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
1880-1939 Divorce Index
1883-1900 Mine Accidents, Non - fatal
1897-1920 Horseshoers
1936-1942 Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments
1966-1968 Vietnam Deaths
Las Animas County Naturalizations 1878 - 1906
Las Animas County Old Age Pensions 1933 - 1936

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Trinidad/Carnegie Public Library
202 N Animas Street Trinidad, CO 81082
Telephone: 719-846-6841
Website

Aguilar Public Library
146 W. Main Street
Aguilar, CO 81020
Telephone: 719-941-4426
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Trinidad History Society and Museum
312 E Main St.
Trinidad CO 81082-2713

Southeastern Colorado Genealogical Society
PO Box 1407
100 E. Abriendo
Pueblo, CO 81004-4290
E-mail:secogensoc@gmail.com
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 99, Las Animas County, Colorado. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 93.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Las Animas County, Colorado. Page 99 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 93.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. 6.0 6.1 William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publ., 1987), 52. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
  7. Brief County Histories (New Mexico) in RootsWeb (accessed 12 September 2118).
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Colorado Territory" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopeida at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colorado_Territory (accessed 19 June 2012).
  9. Adrian B. Ettlinger, AniMap 3.0 : with SiteFinder U.S. place name database (Alamo, Calif.: Gold Bug, 2008), Colorado 1861 map. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL CD-ROM no. 4903.
  10. Handybook, 99, Huerfano County, Colorado.
  11. Wikipedia contributors, "Las Animas County, Colorado," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Las Animas_County,_Colorado, accessed 31 May 2017.
  12. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 51-54; Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 86. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
  13. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 54.
  14. 14.0 14.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov