Laramie Wyoming Family History Center
|This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.|
Center Contacts and Hours[edit | edit source]
Location Map: Location Map
Address: 3311 Hayford Ave Laramie, WY 82072
- Family history entrance south side of the building, west door. (This is the side closest to the parking lot entrance with the steps to the building.)
- Handicapped entrance north side of building. Please call in advance if you need handicapped access.
- Language: English
- Tuesday: 6:00pm-9:00pm
- Wednesday: 6:00pm-9:00pm
- Thursday: 1:00pm-4:00pm
- Other hours by appointment.
- Leave a message if calling at a time other than the center's open hours.
Closed the week of Thanksgiving and December last two weeks.
Center Resources[edit | edit source]
Collections[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Catalog: This center can show you how to use digital images found in the FamilySearch Catalog.
- Book Collection: Wyoming Books: various city and county histories; indexes; some Laramie city directories. Books on various families; several states in the US; and a few countries such as Canada
Databases and Software[edit | edit source]
Free access to subscription based Internet web sites including:
- 19th Century British Library Newspaper Digital Archive: This fully searchable database of the British Library's newspaper holdings provides a complete run of 48 national and regional Victorian British newspapers for the 19th century from 1800 to 1900. These support the study of colonial history, genealogical research, politics, urban studies, and media courses.
- Access Newspaper Archive: ewspaperArchive.com is the world's largest online newspaper archive. Featuring billions of articles from historical newspapers around the U.S. and the world, NewspaperARCHIVE makes exploring history and genealogy easy and fun. Discover fascinating news in archived newspapers hundreds of years old—including obituaries, birth announcements, sports articles, comics, and more—to fill in the life stories you are interested in. And share those stories with others through our community at Our NewspaperARCHIVE. All of our historical newspapers are full-page and fully searchable. Try exploring above, and discover your history today!
- Alexander Street Press - The American Civil War: research database, letters & diaries, images.
- Ancestry.com: Ancestry gives you access to thousands of collections of records from around the world, including immigration, census, voter, vital, and military records; newspapers and periodicals; family trees; photos and images; directories, maps, court, land, wills and financial records, stories, memories, and histories; and detailed records about births, marriages, deaths, land ownership, and much more.
- ArkivDigital Online: ArkivDigital is the largest private provider of Swedish Church Records and other historical records online! All images are newly photographed color images of the original documents.
- Find My Past: Findmypast makes it easy to research your UK ancestry and create your family tree. Search census records and trace births, marriages, and deaths to bring your family history to life. Please note that not all of the content from Find My Past is available in family history centers.
- Fold3 (previously known as Footnote): Search or browse millions of historical documents and photos. Fold3 has refocused their efforts on gathering the best online collection of military records and stories. The Fold3 name reflects military history and honor, since traditionally, the third fold in a flag-folding ceremony honors and remembers veterans for their sacrifice in defending their country and promoting peace in the world.
- Godfrey Memorial Library: Access to Godfrey Scholar, which searches genealogical databases and the library's digitized content.
- HeritageQuest: Heritage Quest Online database is a collection of material for both genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s. Researchers can use HeritageQuest Online to find their ancestors, trace their paths across America, and learn what life was like in the areas where they settled. Searches include census, books, PERSI Peridoical Source Index, Revolutionary War, Freedman's Bank, U.S. Serial Set.
- Historic Map Works Library Edition : Historic Map Works™ Library Edition is one of the most extensive digital map collections available, with over 470,000 high-resolution, full color historic and antique maps. The core of the collection consists of cadastral (property and land ownership) maps illustrating the geographic and development history of the United States and also includes illustrations, city directories, and more. This unique content allows genealogists, historians, and academic researchers to track the "residential genealogy" of families and locations.
- LegacyStories: Put the leaves on your family tree by giving voice to your ancestors. LegacyStories.Org is a social network for all things heritage. Provides a secure platform to upload stories and photos and add recorded narration. The resulting pictures, stories, and narration can be linked as source records on FamilySearch Family Tree.
- Paper Trail: Provides access to 19th-century westward American migration documents.
- World Vital Records: Access to birth, marriage, and death records; Social Security Death Index; family trees; census records; immigration records; court, land, and probate records; military records directory lists; newspapers, family histories, reference materials, biographies, wills, gravestone photos, ship manifests, map collections, and yearbook collections.
Hardware and Equipment[edit | edit source]
- 7 computers, 2 laptops; microfilm and microfiche readers, 1 projector and 1 printer.
Center Services[edit | edit source]
Staff Research Specialties[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Features
- FamilySearch Family Tree
- How to do volunteer indexing for FamilySearch
Resources in the Local Area[edit | edit source]
- Albany County Public Library:
310 S 8th St.
Laramie, WY 82070
The Albany County Public Library is home to the Wyoming Room with books about the history and past residents of Wyoming.
- Albany County Genealogical Society
1721 Boswell Drive
Laramie, WY 82070
Meets monthly at:[edit | edit source]
3311 Hayford Ave.
Each 2nd Tuesday of the month at 7:00 pm.
- American Heritage Center, University of Wyoming
1000 East University Avenue
Laramie, WY 82071
Telephone: (307) 766-4114
The American Heritage Center includes a manuscript collection about Wyoming and the American West, mining and more. They have a digital collection among which are many photos and documents as well as video and audio recordings.
- Coe Library, University of Wyoming
1000 E. University Ave.
Laramie, WY 82071
Telephone: (307) 766-3190 or (800) 442-6757
Among Coe Library's collections include microfilms of many Wyoming newspapers, books on genealogy and history, and a vast amount of Western-related publishings in the Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections.
Links[edit | edit source]
- Training for Family Tree
- How to Write an Effective "Reason" Statement in the FamilySearch Family Tree
- How to Create Source Citations for the FamilySearch Family Tree
- Introduction to Family History Centers
- Wyoming Family History Centers
- Albany County, Wyoming
- American Ancestors - Online Seminars
- Ancestral Quest - Tutorials
- Ancestry.com - Learning Center
- BYU Center for Family History and Genealogy
- FamilySearch - Learning Center
- FamilySearch - Wiki
- Granite Genealogy - Training
- LDS Church Temple and Family History Callings - Starting place for Ward Temple and Family History Consultants and Priesthood Leaders.
- LDS Church - Youth Temple and Family History Consultant Training
- Legacy Family Tree - Training
- RootsMagic Learning Center
Volunteer at the Center[edit | edit source]
Types of volunteers needed:
- A volunteer willing to be a Wiki Trainer
- Volunteers already familiar with some aspect of genealogical research, or willing to learn while researching their own families. Also, willing to volunteer periodically at the FamilySearch Center during open hours.
- Volunteers to assist with keeping the computers updated.
- Volunteers to index historical records (in your own home).
- Any volunteer with a skill he/she thinks would be helpful to the FamilySearch Center.