Great Langton, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Langton upon Swale)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Yorkshire
Yorkshire Parishes K-R
North Riding of Yorkshire
Langton upon Swale

Guide to Great Langton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Langton, Yorkshire
Langton St Andrew Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Gilling
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Northallerton
Registration District Northallerton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1695
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Richmond
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Richmond
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History

Great Langton St Andrew is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Little Langton.

LANGTON, GREAT, a parish, in the union of Northallerton, wapentake of Gilling-East, N. riding of York; including the township of Little Langton, and containing 252 inhabitants, of whom 160 are in Great Langton township, 5½ miles (W. N. W.) from Northallerton. It comprises by computation 1550 acres, whereof 750 are in Great Langton township. The few houses here that give name to the parish, are so near the brink of the river Swale, that they are in frequent danger of being swept away. The church is a small edifice, without aisles or tower, and stands in a retired situation about half a mile from the village. The old rectory-house, and two acres of glebe, are said to have been washed away by the river. [1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Great Langton like this:

LANGTON (GREAT), a township and a parish in Northallerton district, N. R. Yorkshire. The township lies on the river Swale, 4 miles NW of Ainderby r. station, and 5½ NW by W of Northallerton; and has a post-office under Northallerton. Acres, 856. Real property, £1,063. Pop., 137. Houses, 31.—The parish contains also the township of Little Langton, and comprises 1,840 acres. Real property, £2,276. Pop., 239. Houses, 47. The property is divided among a few. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Ripon. Value, £310.* Patron, the Hon. Capt. Duncombe. The church is a plain but good edifice, without a tower. There is a national school.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Great Langton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
GREAT LANGTON PARISH (1813) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None

1847

None

JOIN None

1813-1837

None

AC None

None

None


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Northallerton Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 28-30. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.